Navigation path


INSEPARABLE - Eat, Buy and Sell Sustainable FishINSEPARABLE - Eat, Buy and Sell Sustainable FishINSEPARABLE - Eat, Buy and Sell Sustainable FishINSEPARABLE - Eat, Buy and Sell Sustainable Fish

    Free text
Related content
The European Commission has welcomed the great strides made by Latvia in addressing the shortcomings of its national fisheries control system.
The European Fisheries Control Agency (EFCA) has adopted its Multiannual Work Programme for 2015-2019 and the Annual Work Programme at the meeting of the Administrative Board held on 17 of October 2014.
The European Commission welcomes the broad support the “Omnibus regulation” received today in Council.

Designated ports

The EU system for fisheries controls
Fishing vessel landing herring in Lofoten, Norway.© Richard Thomasson, European Commission

In the case of certain species and certain fishing zones, CFP rules limit the number of ports where operators can land sensitive species or large volumes of fish. The aim is to make it easier to control catches of such sensitive species and large-volume landings accurately.

Member States and third countries have therefore identified so called ‘designated ports’, which are compulsory for these landings of sensitive species and large volumes. The volume limits, and the list of designated ports, may vary according to the fishery.

The following lists are based on information received from the countries concerned, which was valid at the time of publication. Operators are advised to double-check the lists with the national authorities concerned in case of doubt.

  • Pelagic species pdf - 31 KB [31 KB]
  • Third country vessels from the NEAFC Convention Area pdf - 603 KB [603 KB] dansk (da) Deutsch (de) ελληνικά (el) español (es) français (fr) italiano (it) Nederlands (nl) português (pt) suomi (fi) svenska (sv) (all landings, no volume threshold) 

There are other lists of designated ports for other fisheries, such as those for cod and hake, which are not presently published on the Commission website. These may be obtained directly from the national authority concerned.