Navigation path

Central Asia Tempus IV

Tempus aims to facilitate university modernisation, mutual learning and cultural understanding between the European Union and its partners in the higher education sector. Since 1994 Central Asia is one of the Tempus partner regions. The Development and Cooperation Instrument funds Tempus IV projects in Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.


What kind of projects?

Following the Bologna principles, the fourth phase of the programme (Tempus IV 2007-2013) promotes voluntary convergence with EU developments in the field of higher education through three main components:

Joint Projects based on multilateral partnerships between higher education institutions in the EU and partner countries. Following the bottom-up approach, projects will be selected through annual calls for proposals.

Structural measures seeking to contribute to the development and reform of education institutions and systems in partner countries, as well as to enhance their quality and increase their convergence with EU developments. They will be implemented through a call for proposals mechanisms.

Accompanying measures: it comprise meetings of project co-ordinators and other stakeholders, dissemination activities as well as support to the information and dissemination activities of National Tempus Offices in the partner countries. In addition, the EC carries out other relevant activities like thematic conferences, studies on specific issues and activities aiming at the identification and dissemination of good practice. Accompanying Measures' activities are implemented through Call for proposals, Calls for tender or Framework contracts.

The EC is also funding other education activities through the Erasmus Mundus Partnerships (Action 2) programme which is a complementary programme that funds higher education student and teaching staff mobility activities between European universities and universities from targeted third-countries.

Who can apply?

Tempus projects are implemented by project consortia. Universities or associations of universities are the core members of project consortia, but non-academic partners such as companies, business organizations, professional associations, public authorities at local, regional and national level or social partners are also eligible applicants.

When and How to apply?

There is a call planned for each year of the Tempus IV programme (2007-2013).

The second call for proposals was launched in 2009 lasting from January to April. The total budget for this call was around €51 million (out of which € 5 million for Central Asia), with individual projects able to gain funding between €0.5 and €1.5 million.

The next call is planned for November 2009. The deadline for the submission of project proposals is foreseen in April 2010 and new projects under this call should start in winter 2010. The indicative total budget foreseen for Central Asia is approximately € 10 million. Details on the eligibility, application procedures and application form will be available soon on this page.

For further information

The Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA) is responsible for the management of Tempus IV (2007 – 2013), under the supervision of EuropeAid - European Commission Co-operation Office (AIDCO) and Directorate-General for Enlargement (DG ELARG of the European Commission). For further information on the programme, updates and upcoming events please consult regularly the EACEA Tempus webpage.

You can also have a look at specific statistics about the programme such as the breakdown of the number of applications received and acepted projects per domain for Central Asia.





Last update: 31/08/2012 | Top