Navigation path

Erasmus Mundus Partnerships (Action 2)

The overall objective of Erasmus Mundus Partnerships (Action 2) (formerly known as Erasmus Mundus External Cooperation Window (EMECW) is to achieve better understanding and mutual enrichment between the EU and third countries through the exchange of persons, knowledge and skills at higher education level.


What kind of projects?

The European Commission funds will be available for projects enhancing academic cooperation between European and non-European Higher Education Institutions, and individual mobility of students and academics.

More specifically, Eramus Mundus Partnerships (Action 2) aims:

• To develop higher education teaching and learning capacities especially regarding the countries' development priorities;

• To enhance the role for the higher education sector in sustainable development in line with the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs);

• To create a pool of well-qualified and internationally experienced professionals, capable of responding to the challenges of sustainable and equitable development within their home country.

The EC is also funding other education activities through the TEMPUS programme which is a complementary programme that promotes institutional cooperation thereby concentrating on the reform and the modernisation of higher education systems according to the Bologna principles.

Who can apply?

The European Commission funds partnerships between higher education institutions (HEI) including scholarships. Consortia must include a minimum of 5 HEI from at least 3 European countries and a number of HEI from targeted non-European regions. Special attention is given to disadvantaged groups and populations in a vulnerable situation.

Applicants may be:

Higher Education Institutions (HEI) and research centres from European and non- European countries;

• European and non-European higher education students and academics (from bachelor to post-doctoral).

When and How to apply?

The new call for proposals is expected to be published in December 2009.

More detailed information on the eligibility, application procedures and application form can be found on the EACEA webpage.

Where can I find more information?

The Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA) is responsible for the management of Erasmus Mundus (2009-2013), under the supervision of EuropeAid - European Commission Co-operation Office and Directorate General for Education and Culture. Further information on the programme, updates and upcoming events are available on EACEA website.



Last update: 31/08/2012 | Top