Navigation path

Regional Economic Communities

The African Peace and Security Architecture (APSA) relies on eight Regional Economic Communities (RECs) :

- Economic Community of West African States (E.CO.WA.S)

- Common Market of East and Southern Africa (C.O.ME.S.A)

- Economic Community of Central African States (E.C.C.A.S)

- South African Development Community (S.A.D.C)

- Arab Maghreb Union (A.M.U)

- Economic Community of Sahelo-Saharian States (CEN-SAD)

- East African Community (E.A.C)

- Inter-Governmental Authority for Development (I.G.A.D)

and on two coordination mechanisms:

- Eastern African Standby Brigade Coordination Mechanism (EASBRIGCOM)

- North Africa Regional Capability (N.A.R.C)


• Out of a € 20 million contribution to the RECs, the African Peace Facility (APF) has provided € 5.4 million to finance staff (€ 3.6 million), training (€ 1.6 million) and equipment (€ 0.2 million). The programme is to increase the REC's capacity to plan and conduct peace support operations.


• With € 7.7 million of EC development budget for South Africa, the APF has also supported the establishment of REC liaison offices to the AUC with € 1.6 million as foreseen by Article 16 of the AU Peace and Security Council, which calls for the harmonization and coordination of the RECs activities in the field of peace and security to ensure an effective partnership with the PSC.



Last update: 05/12/2012 | Top