Navigation path

European Commission - The Lomé Convention

Cooperation between the European Union (at that time Community) and countries in sub-Saharan Africa, the Caribbean and the Pacific (not yet ACP Group) started in 1957 with the signature of the Treaty of Rome, which gave life to the European Common Market.

In part 4 the Treaty provided for the creation of European Development Funds (EDFs), aimed at giving technical and financial aid to African countries still colonised at the time and with which some States of the Community had historical links.

The following table shows the evolution of cooperation before the Lomé Convention:


YearEventNumber of
ACP countries
Number of
European countries

Treaty instituting the European Economic Community (EEC). Articles 131 and 136 of the Treaty provide for the association of non-European countries and territories with which EEC member States have particular relations. First EDF (1958-1963).


Yaoundé I Convention between EAMA (Associated African and Malgache Countries) and EEC. This convention gives commercial advantages and financial aid to African ex-colonies. It is covered by the second EDF (1964-1969).


Yaoundé II Convention between EAMA and EEC.It is covered by the third EDF (1969-1975).

Last update: 17/02/2012 | Top