Navigation path

Development Co-operation Instrument (DCI)

Launched in January 2007, the Development Co-operation Instrument (DCI) replaces a wide range of geographic and thematic instruments which was created over time. In this way, it increases the effectiveness of the EU development cooperation.

What does it cover?

The DCI covers three components:

1) geographic programmes supporting cooperation with 47 developing countries in Latin America, Asia and Central Asia, the Gulf region (Iran, Iraq and Yemen) and South Africa.

These programmes support actions within the following areas of cooperation:

  • poverty eradication and the achievement of the Millennium Development Goals;
  • essential needs of the population, in particular primary education and health;
  • social cohesion and employment;
  • governance, democracy, human rights and support for institutional reforms;
  • trade and regional integration;
  • sustainable development through environmental protection and sustainable management of natural resources;
  • sustainable integrated water resource management and fostering greater use of sustainable energy technologies;
  • developing infrastructure and an increased use of information and communication technologies;
  • sustainable rural development and ensuring food security;
  • assistance in post-crisis situations and fragile States.

2) thematic programmes benefiting all developing countries (including those covered by the ENPI and the EDF). These programmes support actions in the following fields:


3) programme of accompanying measures for the 18 African, Caribbean and Pacific(ACP) Sugar Protocol countries, in order to help them adjust following the reform of the EU sugar regime.

How much money is available?

The budget allocated under the DCI for the period 2007-2013 is €16.9 billion:

  • €10.06 billion for the geographic programmes (60% of the total),
  • €5.6 billion for the thematic programmes (33% of the total),
  • €1.24 billion for the ACP Sugar Protocol countries (7% of the total).

Who is eligible for funding?

The entities which are eligible for funding are:

  • partner countries and regions, and their institutions,
  • decentralised bodies in the partner countries (municipalities, provinces, departments and regions),
  • joint bodies set up by the partner countries and regions with the Community,
  • Non State Actors,
  • international organisations,
  • EU agencies.

In case of call for proposals and tenders: each of them will specify in related documents the eligibility criteria for that specific call or tender.

Last update: 17/02/2012 | Top