Navigation path

High level navigation

Page navigation

Additional tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Print version
  • Decrease text
  • Increase text

Urban Environment

Aalborg Charter and Aalborg+10 Commitments

The European Sustainable Cities and Towns Campaign was launched at the end of the First European Conference on Sustainable Cities and Towns that took place in Aalborg, Denmark in 1994. The Conference adopted the Aalborg Charter (pdf~30K) which provides a framework for the delivery of local sustainable development and calls on local authorities to engage in Local Agenda 21 processes. Nearly 2,000 local authorities in Europe participate in the Campaign. A group of 10 networks of cities and towns active in different aspects of sustainable development have joined together to form the Campaign and support local authorities in their work on local sustainable development.

The campaign has organised 4 regional conferences on sustainable cities and towns in 1998 and 1999 (Turku, Sofia, Seville and the Hague). It has also organised 3 further European Sustainable Cities and Towns Conferences (Lisbon 1996, Hanover 2000 and Aalborg +10  in 2004).

 The 4th European Sustainable Cities and Towns Conference ("Aalborg +10") adopted the Aalborg +10 Commitments. These commitments are an important step forward in turning sustainable urban development from words into real actions. The then Environment Commissioner, Margot WALLSTRÖM, said at the conference "the Aalborg +10 Commitments are a courageous initiative.  I congratulate you on this impressive achievement."

By signing the Commitments, cities voluntary agree to undertake a baseline environmental review of their city within the first 12 months.  Within 24 months, cities must have identified targets for action, in consultation with stakeholders, for a range of environmental issues.  Cities must monitor progress in delivering the targets and make regular reports to their citizens.

To see the signatories to the Aalborg +10 Commitments, click here.