Navigation path

Additional tools

  • Print version
  • Decrease text
  • Increase text

Frequently Asked Questions for applicants

1. What are the key dates for the 2015 Award?

Launch of 2015 Call for applications: 26th November 2014
Deadline for 2015 submissions: 21st January 2015
Applicants notified of the evaluation results (list of finalists published): April 2014
Award ceremony: 21st May 2015

2. Can international organisations apply to the Award scheme?

International organisations can be a lead applicant if they have a registered office in an EU Member State. They can be a partner applicant even if they do not have an office in the EU if the lead applicant is registered in EU Member State.

3. Can an applicant submit more than one application in the same year?

Yes, an applicant can submit more than one application for the same or different categories. However, the applications must cover completely different activities / achievements. If the same activities / achievements are the subject in more than one application, all the applications will be ineligible.

4. What should we do if our application could fit under more than one category?

You should choose the category that seems the most suitable for your application. Do not submit the same application (covering the same activities / achievements) to more than one category as all the applications will be found ineligible (see above).

5. Why should applications relate explicitly to one or more Natura 2000 sites?

The Natura 2000 Award is a site-related award scheme. The Award aims to give recognition to activities that brought positive results for achieving the objectives of the Natura 2000 network. Even if your application covers activities / achievements that are not a classic site-related project, it might still be eligible if you can demonstrate a direct relevance to one or more Natura 2000 sites. For example:

  • An action on a migratory species would be eligible if it is demonstrated that it was implemented in one or more Natura 2000 sites and improved the conditions or the conservation status of this / these species in this / these Natura 2000 site(s).
  • Horizontal applications covering connectivity within the Natura 2000 network, communication campaigns targeting the general public, partnership building with stakeholders, or transboundary experience exchange must identify at least one site which has directly benefited from their work (e.g., because a new partnership solved local problems, or site managers successfully applied new techniques they learned from international experience exchange).

6. What are the evaluation criteria?

All applications, regardless of the category they are submitted under, will be assessed using the same five criteria although the weight of each is different and tailored to the respective category:

  1. Effectiveness;
  2. Originality;
  3. Durability;
  4. Cost-benefit; and
  5. Replicability.

The information to be provided under each criterion for each category is described in more detail in the Guidelines for Applicants .

7. How can I receive regular information about the Award?

The Natura 2000 Award website is the main hub for information about the Award and how to apply. Please regularly check the news section of the website and sign up for the Natura 2000 Award e-newsletter.

8. Who should we contact if we still have questions?

If you have already checked the website and the Guidance for applicants, and you still have questions, please contact the Natura 2000 Award Secretariat at: