Navigation path

High level navigation

Page navigation

Additional tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Print version
  • Decrease text
  • Increase text


All of IUCN’s Red Listing processes rely on the willingness of experts to contribute and pool their collective knowledge to make the most reliable estimates of species status. Without their enthusiastic commitment to species conservation, this kind of regional overview would not be possible.

Coordination of the European Red List of Butterflies was carried out by Helen Temple and Annabelle Cuttelod (IUCN Species Programme). Chris van Swaay (Butterfly Conservation Europe) coordinated the compilation of data and the assessments of European butterflies species. Chris van Swaay and Irma Wynhoff wrote the texts on range and habitat requirements.

Butterfly Conservation Europe

Jean-Christophe Vié provided guidance, encouragement, and good advice throughout the project. Ana Nieto, Teresa Oliveros Martinez, Anna Rosenberg and Hugo Ruiz Lozano provided substantial assistance with financial management of the project. Susannah Ohanlon, Vineet Katariya and Jim Ragle provided high-quality support on GIS and database issues. Resit Akçakaya provided guidance on how best to take into account data uncertainty.

Christian Stettmer organized the evaluation workshop. We would like to thank our host organisation, the Bayerische Akademie für Naturschutz und Landschaftspflege, for the logistical arrangements, for their warm hospitality and for ensuring that the workshop ran smoothly.

Assessments were made by Chris van Swaay, Irma Wynhoff, Rudi Verovnik, Martin Wiemers, Miguel López Munguira, Dirk Maes, Martina Šašić, Theo Verstrael, Martin Warren and Josef Settele. They were discussed with the national and species experts during a workshop held in Laufen (Germany), in January 2009.

Butterfly taxonomy largely follows the 2010-revision of the Taxonomy Commission of Butterfly Conservation Europe, lead by Rudi Verovnik and Martin Wiemers, and constituted from Emilio Balletto, John Coutsis, Ole Karsholt, Otakar Kudrna, Miguel López Munguira, Erik J. van Nieukerken and Niklas Wahlberg, with the administrative support of Albert Vliegenthart.

We would also specially thanks Owen Lewis (IUCN Butterfly Red List Authority) for his support and for his thorough review of the endemic species assessments in the very short deadline given.

The European Butterflies Assessments and consequently this report were requirements of the framework of a service contract with the European Commission (Service Contract No. 070307/2007/483305/MAR/B2). Additional financial support for the workshop was provided by the Bayerische Akademie für Naturschutz und Landschaftspflege. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the European Commission, Butterfly Conservation Europe, or the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN).

Numerous organisations participated to this European Red List of Butterflies and we would like to thank them for their involvment:

  • Butterfly Conservation Europe
  • Butterfly Conservation, UK
  • Croatian Natural History Museum, Croatia
  • De Vlinderstichting / Dutch Butterfly Conservation, The Netherlands
  • Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research – UFZ, Germany
  • Research Institute for Nature and Forest - INBO, Belgium
  • Society for the Conservation and Study of Lepidoptera in Slovenia
  • University of Vienna, Austria
  • Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain
  • Bayerische Akademie für Naturschutz und Landschaftspflege - ANL, Germany

Data were provided by Butterfly Conservation Europe national partners and we would like to thank in particular the following people for their major contribution to this project, asking for forgiveness from anyone whose name is inadvertently omitted or misspelled:

  • Eyjolf Aistleitner
  • Emilio Balletto
  • Jiří Beneš
  • Stoyan Beshkov
  • Simona Bonelli
  • Gilles Carron
  • Louis Cassar
  • Sue Collins
  • Garry Curtis
  • Jordi Dantart
  • Dalius Dapkus
  • Alexey Devyatkin
  • Marta Domènech Ferrés
  • Goran Dusej
  • Cécile Edelist
  • Violaine Fichefet
  • Patricia Garcia Pereira
  • Enrique García-Barros
  • Helmut Höttinger
  • Predrag Jakšić
  • Eddie John
  • Henrik Kalivoda
  • Evrim Karaçetin
  • Michael Kavin
  • Pavel Kepka
  • Martin Konvicka
  • Ádám Kőrösi
  • Anatolij Kulak
  • Miroslav Kulfan
  • Jasko Kullberg
  • Alexey L. Devyatkin
  • Suvad Lelo
  • Miguel López Munguira
  • Dirk Maes
  • Luc Manil
  • Ernestino Maravalhas
  • Marc Meyer
  • Branko Micevski
  • Sergiu Mihut
  • Yeray Monasterio
  • David Nash
  • Erling Olafsson
  • Lars Ove Hansen
  • Kelly Papapavlou
  • Dario Patricelli
  • Sergey Popov
  • Helena Roma
  • Nils Ryrholm
  • Martina Šašić
  • Nikolaj Savenkov
  • Josef Settele.
  • Marcin Sielezniew
  • Christian Steel
  • Constantí Stefanescu
  • Christian Stettmer
  • Giedrius Svitra
  • Safian Szabolcs
  • Toomas Tammaru
  • Chris van Swaay
  • Rudi Verovnik
  • Theo Verstrael
  • Martin Warren
  • Martin Wiemers
  • Irma Wynhoff