Green Cities Fit for Life

Image by M.Štojs

Finalist Cities Announced for 2021 European Green Capital & 2020 European Green Leaf Competitions!

Drum roll please….and the finalist cities are…

Lahti (Finland), Lille (France) and Strasbourg (France) have made it to the final stage of the European Green Capital (EGCA) 2021 competition!

Three cities have also made it to the next round of the European Green Leaf Award 2020 (EGLA) competition: Lappeenranta (Finland), Limerick (Ireland) and Mechelen (Belgium).

Congratulations to all finalists and best of luck on the next round!

Finalists for the European Green Capital Award 2021: Lahti (Finland), Lille (France) and Strasbourg (France)

Finalists for European Green Leaf Award 2020: Lappeenranta (Finland), Limerick (Ireland) Mechelen (Belgium)

What happens next?

Now, the finalists will be busy preparing for the next stage of the competitions, where they must present their cities to an international Jury, demonstrating their overall commitment to sustainable urban development, their capacity to act as a role model to other cities, and their strategy for communicating and engaging with their citizens.

This year’s winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony on 20 June 2019 in Oslo, the 2019 European Green Capital.

The Awards

The title of European Green Capital is awarded every year to a European city with over 100,000 inhabitants for its commitment to environmental, social and economic sustainability. Now in its 12th year, the European Green Capital title has been awarded to eleven cities to date: Stockholm, Sweden (2010); Hamburg, Germany (2011); Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain (2012); Nantes, France (2013); Copenhagen, Denmark (2014); Bristol, UK (2015); Ljubljana, Slovenia (2016); Essen, Germany (2017); Nijmegen, Netherlands (2018); Oslo, Norway (2019); and Lisbon, Portugal (2020).

Following the success of the European Green Capital Award, the European Green Leaf Award was established in 2015 to recognise the environmental efforts and achievements of smaller cities (20,000 – 100,000 inhabitants). To date, seven cities have been awarded the title of European Green Leaf: Mollet del Vallès, Spain (2015); Torres Vedras, Portugal (2015); Galway, Ireland (2017); Leuven, Belgium (2018); Växjö, Sweden (2018); Cornellà de Llobregat, Spain (2019); and Horst aan de Maas, the Netherlands (2019).