Green Cities Fit for Life

Image by Ursula Bach

Webinar- Energy Retrofitting for Municipal and Commercial Buildings

15th November 2011

City Managers, Heads of Housing, Transportation, Energy and other relevant Departments in Europe and the United States who are committed to long term energy efficiency planning are invited to log in and watch the webinar. The central theme is energy efficiency. During the webinar a case study from Europe and the United States will be outlined.

The webinar will take place at the following times:

8:00 am PST, 11.00 am EST, 16.00 UK time, 17.00 Brussels time, 18.00 Helsinki time, 19:00 Dhahran and will last 60 minutes.

The webinar is presented by Virginia Tech’s International Energy Efficiency Network (IEEN) in cooperation with the US Department of Energy (DOE). The Trans-Atlantic City-University Network between Europe and the United States focuses on how cities and universities can work together to accelerate the implementation of energy efficiency in urban areas. EMI together with representatives from the local government of The Hague, the Erasmus University of Rotterdam and the University of Utrecht forms the Dutch partnership.

The European case study will highlight a program in which small groups of cities work together to test innovative approaches to energy use reduction. Within this program Neuchâtel, a Swiss city of 30,000 inhabitants, is working to decrease non-renewable energy consumption by 23 % in a built up area within 5 years. On the US side we will be presenting the work of the Southeast Energy Efficiency Alliance and its BetterBuildings Program. Within this 12 city and 8 state partnership, special attention will be give to the City of Atlanta, Georgia, where the Office of Sustainability is implementing a comprehensive energy upgrade for downtown buildings for downtown buildings with a goal of improving energy performance by a minimum of 20% by 2020.

To registers for the webinar please click here

Energy performance 12 environmental indicators, that Cities applying for the European Green Capital Award, are assessed on. For more information on the evaluation criteria click here