Green Cities Fit for Life

Image by Ursula Bach

EGCA 2021 and EGLA 2020 Applicants Revealed!

21 cities from 14 different European countries are officially competing to win the EGCA 2021 and EGLA 2020! Nearly two thirds of the applicant cities applied for the first time and most applications were received from Southern and Eastern European cities, which means that our EGCA and EGLA family is growing!

Who entered the race?

The following nine cities are competing for the European Green Capital 2021 Award: Budapest (Hungary); Cagliari (Italy); Dijon (France); Lahti (Finland); Lille (France); Skopje (Macedonia); Strasbourg (France); Tirana (Albania); and Västerås (Sweden).

EGCA 2021 Applicant Cities

12 cities are in the running for the European Green Leaf 2020 Award, as follows: Avignon (France); Kaposvár (Hungary); Lappeenranta (Finland); Limerick (Ireland); Mairena del Alcor (Spain); Mechelen (Belgium); Oliveira do Hospital (Portugal); Svishtov (Bulgaria); Szentes (Hungary); Valmiera (Latvia); Viana do Castelo (Portugal); and Vranje (Serbia).

EGLA 2020 Applicant Cities

What happens next?

Each city’s application will be evaluated by an independent Expert Panel, who will then determine what cities will go on to the final stage of the competition. Finalists for each competition will be announced in April 2019, so stay tuned for the big reveal!