Green Cities Fit for Life

Image by Ursula Bach

Applying for EGCA

This page gives you an overview of the competition’s application process. For more information on the 2021 European Green Capital Award competition cycle, please click here.


Registration is obligation free and does not require your city to enter the competition at a later date. Registration will allow your city to explore the application process and determine if a formal entry is to be submitted.

Online Application

All European cities that comply with the eligibility check may apply for the European Green Capital Award by submitting an online application form.

For information on putting together an application for the European Green Capital Award  please take a look at our guidance note.

Rules of Contest

Download the rules of contest of the European Green Capital Award here. The rules of contest must be adhered to in order for applicant cities to submit eligible applications.

Technical Assessment by Panel of Experts

All applications received are assessed by the Expert Panel. The Expert Panel determine the shortlist of cities for each cycle of the EGCA. Read the Technical Assessment Synopsis Report for the 2020 EGCA Cycle here, as an example.

The Jury Decides

The shortlisted cities are then invited to present their vision, action plan and communication strategy to the Jury. Based on this hearing, the jury selects a winning city, which is  announced at an annual Award Ceremony.

Competition Publications

Publications are prepared each cycle on the competition aspect of the European Green Capital Award. Each cycle a Technical Assessment Report, a Jury Report and a Good Practice Report (or Good Practise Factsheets) are prepared and a selection of these reports from previous cycles are available for download in the Award Publications section.

Please contact us at for further information.