Green Cities Fit for Life

Image by C. Spahrbier

2016 Green Capital

Ljubljana has been named European Green Capital 2016.

Ljubljana was shortlisted alongside – Essen, Nijmegen, Oslo and Umeå from 12 entries across Europe to proceed to the next stage of the European Green Capital 2016 Award, organised by the European Commission. View the press release here. Find out more about Ljubljana here

View the Expert Panel Technical Assessment Report for the 2016 Award Cycle here

The shortlisted cities presented their vision, their potential to act as a role model to other cities, and their communication strategy to the Jury in Copenhagen on 23rd June 2014. View the Jury Report here

The final result, the European Green Capital 2016, was announced the next day at an official award ceremony in Copenhagen on 24th June 2014, hosted by the current European Green Capital Copenhagen.

2016 Applicants 

The Call for Applications for the 2016 European Green Capital Award closed on the 31st of October 2013. This was the first year of the competition that cities across Europe with more than 100,000 inhabitants were eligible to apply – previously only cities with a population of 200,000 or more were eligible. 12 Cities from 11 Countries across Europe applied for the Award.

  1. Dąbrowa Górnicza, Poland
  2. Essen, Germany
  3. Larissa, Greece
  4. Ljubljana, Slovenia
  5. Nijmegen, The Netherlands
  6. Oslo, Norway
  7. Pitesti, Romania
  8. Reggio Emilia, Italy
  9. Santander, Spain
  10. Tours, France
  11. Umea, Sweden
  12. Zaragoza, Spain

European Green Capital 2016 Applicant Cities Map