Green Cities Fit for Life

Image by Jean-Dominique Billaud


Official Jury Partners

The European Green Capital Award has a jury composed of representatives from seven European institutions, including the Commission itself, who participate in the selection of the European Green Capital each year. Details of the 6 other partner are provided below:

CORLogoThe Committee of Regions

The Committee of the Regions is the voice of regions and cities in the European Union. It is made up of 353 members – regional and locally elected representatives from the 28 EU countries- organized by 6 commissions covering competences in the following policy areas based on the EU Treaties:

  • Employment, vocational training, economic and social cohesion, social policy, health.
  • Education and culture.
  • Environment, climate change, energy.
  • Transport and trans-European networks.
  • Civil protection and services of general interests

EEALOGOThe European Environment Agency

The European Environment Agency (EEA) is an agency of the European Union whose main task is to provide sound, independent information on the environment. They are a major information source for those involved in developing, adopting, implementing and evaluating environmental policy, and also for the general public. Currently, the EEA has 33 member countries.

ICLEILogoICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability

ICLEI is the world’s leading association of cities and local governments dedicated to sustainable development. They are a powerful movement of 12 mega-cities, 100 super-cities and urban regions, 450 large cities, as well as 450 medium-sized cities and towns in 86 countries.

They promote local action for global sustainability and supports cities to become sustainable, resilient, resource efficient, biodiverse and low-carbon. Cities are encouraged to build smart infrastructure and to develop an inclusive, green urban economy with the ultimate aim to achieve healthy and happy communities.

COMOlogoThe Covenant of Mayor Office

The Covenant of Mayors is the mainstream European movement involving local and regional authorities, voluntarily committed to increasing energy efficiency and use of renewable energy sources on their territories. Through their commitment, Covenant signatories aim to meet and exceed the European Union 20% CO2 reduction objective by 2020.