Green Cities Fit for Life

Image by Ursula Bach

19 cities across Europe apply to become the European Green Capital for 2014

17th September 2011

The deadline for submitting applications for the European Commission s European Green Capital Award EGCA  is now closed. The Award recognises and rewards local efforts to improve the environment, the economy and the quality of life in cities. The EGCA is given each year to a city, not necessarily a capital, which is leading the way in environmentally friendly urban living and which can act as a role-model for other cities. Some 19 cities from 14 European countries have applied for the 2014 award.

  City Country
1 Antwerp Belgium
2 Brasov Romania
3 Bristol UK
4 Brussels Belgium
5 Bursa Municipality Turkey
6 Copenhagen Denmark
7 Frankfurt Germany
8 Ghent Belgium
9 Ljubljana Slovenia
10 Newcastle UK
11 Paris France
12 Rotterdam Netherlands
13 Stoke-on-Trent UK
14 Tampere Finland
15 Thessaloniki Greece
16 Torino Italy
17 Trabzon Turkey
18 Vienna Austria
19 Zaragoza Spain

The applications will now be evaluated by an expert panel and this will include qualitative evaluations and a peer review of each application based on 12 indicator areas. Following these evaluations, 3-4 cities will be shortlisted for the 2014 title. The shortlisted cities will be invited to present their action plans and communication strategies to a Jury, which will deliberate and then make a final decision. The announcement of the European Green Capital for 2014 is planned to take place at a prestigious award ceremony in June 2012 in Vitoria-Gasteiz. Europe’s first Green Capital in 2010 was Stockholm, Hamburg is this year’s winner, the Spanish city of Vitoria-Gasteiz will inherit the title in 2012 and, in 2013, the crown will be passed to Nantes in France.

To view a map of the 19 applicant cities for the 2014 award click here