About the Awards

History and idea behind the EMAS Awards

In 2005 the European Commission decided to reward the excellent work of EMAS registered organisations in environmental protection by introducing the EMAS Awards. Each year from 2005 to 2012, the EMAS Awards recognised outstanding achievements in one particular environmental management aspect such as resource efficiency or waste management.

After 2012, the Commission revised the format for the EMAS Awards and chose the more general theme 'Effective eco-innovations supporting improvements in environmental performance'. Since 2015 the Awards take place every two years, alternating with the European Business Awards for the Environment (EBAE).

The event provides a cornerstone for promoting EMAS and the Awards winners, as well as a platform facilitating the dialogue between key stakeholders.

The Awards are an opportunity for EMAS registered organisations to share and promote their best environmental management practices.


Participation in the European EMAS Awards is open to all EMAS registered organisations. They should send the application form corresponding to the year edition along with supporting information to the Competent Body of their country, which then selects the organisations to represent the Member State in the European EMAS Awards.

Competent Bodies can lead a national EMAS Award contest or carry out individual assessments to select nominees to the European EMAS awards. Interested organisations are therefore invited to contact their Competent Body to learn more about the process and deadlines.

EMAS Awards Categories

The national Compentent Body (Bodies) of each country can nominate one organisation in each of the following three categories:

Organisations from the private sector:

  1. micro, small and medium-sized organisations - employing fewer than 250 persons and having an annual turnover not exceeding 50 million €, and/or an annual balance sheet not exceeding 43 million €.
  2. large organisations - employing more than 250 persons and having an annual turnover exceeding 50 million €, and/or an annual balance sheet exceeding 43 million €.

Organisations from the public sector:

  1. small and large organisations from the public sector (all sizes)

Member States therefore nominate no more than 3 organisations to compete in the European EMAS Awards.

EMAS Awards Jury

The EMAS Award nominees from the Member States are then evaluated by an independent EMAS Awards jury, consisting of renowned experts in the field of EMAS. The jury composition changes for each edition of the Awards but at least one representative of an organisation that has recently won an EMAS Award is a member of the jury. Each application is reviewed by at least two jury members, who then decide conjointly on the winners.

Awards ceremony

The winners are announced during an official ceremony, in the presence of officials from the European Commission. The location of the event changes for every edition.

Past awards

To find out more about the EMAS Awards 2017 please click here: ‘EMAS Awards 2017’.

To find out about past awards, you can navigate to the old archived EMAS Awards website:

Please click here to find past EU EMAS Award nominees

Please click here to find past EU EMAS Award winners

Please click here to find the past EU EMAS Awards Jury

Please click here to find past press releases and the photo gallery