Navigation path

High level navigation

Page navigation

Additional tools

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Print version
  • Decrease text
  • Increase text

Animals used for scientific purposes

Member State National Committees under Article 49 of Directive 2010/63/EU on the protection of animals used for scientific purposes

Article 49 provides that

  1. Each Member State shall establish a national committee for the protection of animals used for scientific purposes. It shall advise the competent authorities and animal-welfare bodies on matters dealing with the acquisition, breeding, accommodation, care and use of animals in procedures and ensure sharing of best practice.

  2. The national committees referred to in paragraph 1 shall exchange information on the operation of animal-welfare bodies and project evaluation and share best practice within the Union.

National Committees have a key role under the Directive to facilitate a coherent approach to project evaluation and review strategies at national level. They also have a central role in the provision of advice to both the competent authorities and all establishments using or keeping animals for scientific purposes through the network of animal welfare bodies. National Committees welcome your comments and questions to help them to help you in the implementation of the Directive obligations and thus advance the attainment of its objectives. The contact details for the respective National Committees can be found at the end of this page.

Guidance

Guidance on specific elements of the Directive is one of the ways to facilitate its correct and uniform implementation. Such guidance is made freely available to all those impacted by the use and care of animals. Some National Committees are active in addressing different areas within the Directive. It is therefore important that a central place for their dissemination is provided.

A catalogue of published guidance, provided to the Commission by National Committees for dissemination, has been prepared. The file provides a brief description of each guidance document, links them with Directive articles and provides other key elements to facilitate sorting, filtering and search.

DISCLAIMER: The content of the guidance provided by Member State National Committees does not imply a policy position of the European Commission. Only the Court of Justice of the European Union is entitled to interpret EU law with legally binding authority.

 

pdf Catalogue of Member State National Committee Guidance on the implementation of Directive 2010/63/EU

 

Contact details for the National Committees of the Member States

MEMBER STATE / EEA COUNTRY

Web-site of the National Committee

Contact

E-mail address

AUSTRIA

Web-site

Chair: Barbara Weitgruber
Vice-chair: Daniel Weselka

barbara.weitgruber@bmbwf.gv.at

BELGIUM

 

President: Mr Stefan Roels

comexpan_comdierpr@environnement.brussels

BULGARIA

Web-site

Aleksandra Miteva (NCP)

a_miteva@bfsa.bg

CROATIA

 

Chair: Prof. Dr. Sc. Dražen Vnuk

drazen.vnuk@vef.hr

CYPRUS

 

Yiola Iacovou (NCP)

yiacovou@vs.moa.gov.cy

CZECH REPUBLIC

Web-site

Chair: Asc. Prof. Petr Kunc

vozpvu@mze.cz

DENMARK

Web-site

Chair: Christine Lydia Nelleman

Cne@food.dtu.dk

ESTONIA

 

 

info@agri.ee

FINLAND

Web-site

Chair: Outi Vainio

outi.vainio@helsinki.fi

FRANCE

Web-site
National Ethics Committee

Chair: Hélène Combrisson

hcombrisson@vet-alfort.fr

GERMANY

Web-site

Chair: Professor Dr Andreas Hensel
Vice chair: Professor Dr Reiner Wittkowski

nationaler-ausschuss-tierschutzgesetz@bfr.bund.de

GREECE

Web-site

Chair: DVM, PhD Nikolaos Kostomitsopoulos
Vice Chair: Dr Apostolos Papalois

nkostom@bioacademy.gr

HUNGARY

 

Chair: István Gyertyán

atet@nebih.gov.hu

IRELAND

Web-site

Chair: Michael C. Gaynor

NCSAP@hpra.ie

ITALY

 

Chair: Rodolfo N.Lorenzini

rodolfo.lorenzini@iss.it

LATVIA

Web-site

Chair: Iveta Kocina

Iveta.kocina@bior.gov.lv

LITHUANIA

Web-site

 

info@vmvt.lt

LUXEMBURG

Web-site

Chair: Vicky Bink

Vicky.BINCK@asv.etat.lu

MALTA

Web-site

Mr. George Meli

 

NETHERLANDS

Web-site

Chair: Dr Herman Koeter

Herman.Koeter@orangeohouse.eu

POLAND

Web-site and
Web-site

Chair: Elzbieta Kampanowska-Jezierska

zwierz@nauka.gov.pl

PORTUGAL

Web-site

Chair: Yolanda Vaz

yolanda.vaz@dgav.pt

ROMANIA

 

Chair: Dr Cristin Coman

comancristin@yahoo.com

SLOVAKIA

 

Chair: DVM Veronika Cubinkova

veronika.cubinkova@savba.sk

SLOVENIA

Web-site

Chair: Dr Manica Černe

manica.cerne@gmail.com

SPAIN

Web-site

Chair: Fernando Miranda Sotillos

ceeba@mapama.es

SWEDEN

Web-site

Chair: Hakan Henrikson
Vice chair: Ingrid Eilertz

Hakan.Henrikson@jordbruksverket.se
Ingrid.Eilertz@jordbruksverket.se

UNITED KINGDOM

Web-site

Chair: Dr John Landers

animalssciencesecret@homeoffice.gov.uk

NORWAY

awaiting formal launch

(Bjørn Groven)

bjorn.groven@mattilsynet.no