Navigation path


  • A
  • B
  • C
  • D
  • E
  • F
  • G
  • H
  • I
  • J
  • K
  • L
  • M
  • N
  • O
  • P
  • Q
  • R
  • S
  • T
  • U
  • V
  • W
  • X
  • Y
  • Z

AeroSpace and Defence Industries Association of Europe


European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (Comité Européen de Normalisation Electronique)


Common Foreign and Security Policy


Chiefs of Defence (Staff)

Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP)

The CFSP was established in 1993 through the Treaty of Maastricht and further enhanced through the Amsterdam Treaty signed in 1999. The CFSP has five main objectives, to:

  • safeguard the common values, fundamental interests, independence and integrity of the Union in conformity with the principle of the United Nations Charter;
  • strengthen the security of the EU in all ways;
  • preserve peace and strengthen international security, in accordance with the principles of the United Nations Charter, as well as the principle of the Helsinki Final Act and the objectives of the Paris Charter, including those on external borders;
  • promote international co-operation; and
  • develop and consolidate democracy and the rule of law, and respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms.

The European Council defines the principles and general guidelines for the CFSP. Further information on the CFSP can be found on the European External Action Service website.


Committee of the Permanent Representatives


Defence Advanced Research Projects Agency

Defence Technological and Industrial Base (DTIB)

The DTIB is a term used to describe the technological and industrial strength of a defence market. The European Defence Agency (EDA) has developed a strategy, approved by EU Ministers of Defence - with the exception of Denmark which does not participate in the EDA - on 14 May 2007, to ensure that the European DTIB dependably supplies Europe's armed forces with their needs even in times of conflict, and which provides for appropriate national sovereignty and EU autonomy. This strategy is available on the European Defence Agency (EDA) website.


Defence Test and Evaluation Base


Defence Technological and Industrial Base


European Defence Agency


European Defence Equipment Market


European Defence Technological and Industrial Base


European Handbook for Defence Procurement


European Space Agency


European Security and Defence College


European Security and Defence Policy


European Security Research Programme


European Security Strategy: EU’s externally oriented security strategy, promulgated in December 2003, updated in December 2008.


European Telecommunications Standards Institute


European Union Military Committee


European Union Military Staff

European Defence Agency (EDA)

The European Defence Agency (EDA) was established by the Council of Ministers on 12 July 2004 "to support the Member States and the Council in their effort to improve European defence capabilities in the field of crisis management and to sustain the ESDP as it stands now and develops in the future". All EU Member States, with the exception of Denmark, participate in the EDA.

The EDA's main functions are to:

  • develop defence capabilities;
  • promote Defence Research and Technology;
  • promote armaments co-operation; and
  • create a competitive European Defence Equipment Market and strengthen the European DTIB.

More information on the work of the agency can be found on the EDA official website.

European Defence Equipment Market (EDEM)

The EDEM refers to the market in Europe for armaments. It is a market that is currently considerably fragmented and it is the European Commission's objective to make it more efficient and competitive. This is behind the Commission's the 'Defence Package' of proposals presented to the Council and Parliament in December 2007.

Further details on this package can be found in the section on this site on European Defence Industrial Policy.

European Security and Defence Policy (ESDP)

The ESDP is part of the CFSP and its objective is to allow the EU to develop its civilian and military capacities for crisis management and conflict prevention at the international level, thus helping to maintain peace and international security, in accordance with the United Nations Charter. The ESDP, which does not involve the creation of a European army, is developing in a manner that is compatible and coordinated with NATO.

The Maastricht Treaty (1992) was the first to include provisions on the Union's responsibilities in terms of security and the possibility of a future common defence policy. With the entry into force of the Treaty of Amsterdam (1999), new tasks have been included in the Treaty on European Union (Title V). This important innovation relates to humanitarian and rescue operations, peacekeeping operations and the use of combat forces in crisis management, including peacemaking operations (known as "Petersberg tasks"). In addition to these civilian and military crisis management operations, the ESDP includes a "conflict prevention" component.


Information and Communication Technologies


Improvised Explosive Devices


Intellectual Property Rights


Information Technology


International Traffic in Arms Regulations


Minister (or Ministry) of Defence


North Atlantic Council


NATO Maintenance and Supply Agency


North Atlantic Treaty Organisation

North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO)

NATO (or the Atlantic Alliance) is a military alliance and was founded by the North Atlantic Treaty, also known as the Treaty of Washington, signed on 4 April 1949, and has its headquarters in Brussels. It currently has 26 members, following successive enlargements:

  • 1949 (12 founding members): Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom, the United States;
  • February 1952: Greece and Turkey;
  • May 1955: the Federal Republic of Germany;
  • May 1982: Spain;
  • March 1999: the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland;
  • March 2004: Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia.

The organization constitutes a system of collective defence whereby its member states agree to mutual defense in response to an attack by any external party. More information can be found on NATO official website.


National Security Authority


NATO Standardisation Agency


Research and Development


Research and Technology


Satellite Centre


Small and Medium-sized Enterprises


Security of Information


Security of Supply

Share: FacebookGoogle+LinkedInsend this page to a friend

Set page to normal font sizeIncrease font size by 200 percentprint this page