This site has been archived on 02/02/2015

Navigation path

This website is no longer being updated.

Please visit the new Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs website.

Additional tools


The purpose of ESIC is to strengthen policy learning by capturing the dynamics and large-scale impact of service innovation and by improving the awareness of the role and impact of service innovation. This will be achieved in a number of specific ways.

The impact and importance of service innovation will be analysed and presented in a European Service Innovation Scoreboard. The scoreboard  is based on a number of key indicators that will reflect the transformative power of service innovation.

The analytical framework for service innovation policies will be tested in practice within six selected model demonstrator regions:  the Canary Islands, Emilia-Romagna, Limburg, Luxembourg, Northern Ireland, and Upper Austria. For these six regions, ESIC will carry out a customised, service innovation policy stress-test to assess the appropriateness of their policy choices and to provide options for more effective policy interventions. The regional policy stress-test will focus, for example, on what types of service innovation have the greatest potential to transform specific types of regional economies. It will also help to identify the existing and embryonic ‘transformative service investment opportunities’ such as networking, connecting and brokerage services, utilities, infrastructure services and Knowledge-Intensive Business Services (KIBS).

An important part of the service innovation policy stress-test is a self-assessment tool (SAT), which is a method of evaluating whether or not an ‘ideal’ policy framework is in place in a region. Once the tool has been tested and refined, it will be made available to all regions wishing to make such a self-assessment. For the six selected model demonstrator regions, ESIC also provides other services, which together constitute a three step regional service innovation policy analysis. At a later stage the ESIC consortium will offer these services to all other regions. Please see the Contact section  to obtain more detailed information.

The regional service innovation policy stress-test will comprise three consecutive steps:

  1. An analysis of the regional profile;
  2. A two-day, peer-review session on the region’s policies related to service innovation;
  3. A regional policy briefing highlighting bottlenecks and barriers and offering advice on future options.

The experience of the model demonstrator regions will be systematically documented, used and disseminated to promote mutual policy learning and to raise awareness. To generate this dissemination, ESIC will organise a series of workshops, as well as a conference, and provide access to the lessons learned through this website. The learning effects of ESIC will not simply be limited to the six selected model demonstrator regions. In due course, ESIC will be able to provide its services to other interested regions


Share: FacebookGoogle+LinkedInsend this page to a friend