TAIEX and the European Neighbourhood Policy. (ENP)

The European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP) was developed in the context of the EU´s 2004 neighbourhood-enlargement, with the objective of avoiding the emergence of new dividing lines between the enlarged EU and its neighbours and instead strengthening stability, security and well-being for all concerned.

The countries covered by the ENP are Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Egypt, Georgia, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Moldova, Morocco, the Palestinian Authority, Syria, Tunisia, Ukraine. The TAIEX instrument is one tool now available to these countries offering short-term technical assistance much in the same way as to other beneficiary countries. The legal basis for extending TAIEX operations to those countries is Council Decision (206/62/EC) under which the TAIEX instrument will provide targeted assistance to aid the partner countries in understanding and drafting legislation related to the action plans or to the National Indicative Programmes and to help them with implementation and enforcement.

The EU offers neighbouring countries a privileged relationship, building upon a mutual commitment to common values (democracy and human rights, rule of law, good governance, market economy principles and sustainable development). The ENP goes beyond existing relationships to offer a deeper political relationship and economic integration. The level of ambition of the relationship will depend on the extent to which these values are effectively shared. The ENP is not about neighbourhood-enlargement and does not offer an accession perspective.