Navigation path

Choose high-contrast version Set page to normal font size Increase font size by 200 percent Send this page to a friend print this page

Stay connected

Facebook  Twitter  Youtube  RSS


European Commission - Enlargement - Enlargement

The European Union (EU) currently has 27 Member States. Following the first six Member States — Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands — 21 countries have acceded to the Union:

1973: Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom;

1981: Greece;

1986: Spain and Portugal;

1995: Austria, Finland and Sweden;

2004: Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia;

2007: Bulgaria and Romania.

Croatia is set to become the 28th Member State on 1 July 2013 upon ratification of its Accession Treaty* by all member states.

Turkey, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Iceland, Montenegro and Serbia have the status of candidate countries.

Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Kosovo are also engaged in the stabilisation and association process* but not yet recognised as candidates; they have the status of potential candidates*.

Webmaster | Top
Last update: 07/09/2012