Navigation path

Choose high-contrast version Set page to normal font size Increase font size by 200 percent Send this page to a friend print this page

Stay connected

Facebook  Twitter  Youtube  RSS

Acceding countries

European Commission - Enlargement - Acceding countries

Countries that have signed the treaty of accession* obtain the status of 'acceding countries' and are expected to become full member states on the date set out in the treaty. During the interim period, acceding countries benefit from special arrangements: they are kept informed of EU legislation via an information and consultation procedure and are given the opportunity to comment on proposals; they hold an active observer status in all the relevant bodies, in which they have the right to speak but not to vote.

For more details, see the following section on our website:

Webmaster | Top
Last update: 07/09/2012