Navigation path

Help us improve

Find what you wanted?


What were you looking for?

Any suggestions?

Southern Neighbourhood

Southern Neighbourhood

With whom?

EU cooperation with the Southern Neighbourhood takes place in the framework of the European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP) and includes ten partner countries: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine*, Syria and Tunisia.

How does it work?

In the Southern Neighbourhood region, the ENP is implemented through bilateral (tailor-made for each county), regional neighbourhood-wide and Cross-Border cooperation programmes.

These various EUcooperation programmes cover a wide range of sectors; including democratic development, rule of law and good governance; state building; economic development; social protection; and migration.

Regional cooperation in the Southern Neighbourhood region also includes activities financed through the “EU Regional Trust Fund in Response to the Syrian Crisis”  and the North Africa window of the  “Emergency Trust Fund for stability and addressing root causes of irregular migration and displaced persons in Africa”.

How much?

The bulk of funding for implementing the European Neighbourhood Policy derives from the European Neighbourhood Instrument (ENI), which succeeds the European Neighbourhood and Partnership Instrument (ENPI - funding period 2007-2013).

An indicative allocation between €7.5 and €9.2 billion is foreseen for the Southern Neighbourhood region for 2014 – 2020 under the ENI. During 2007 – 2013, the EU has made available a total of over €9 billion for the Southern Neighbourhood region (ENPI funds). 


* This designation shall not be construed as recognition of a State of Palestine and is without prejudice to the individual positions of the Member States on this issue.

Webmaster | Top
Last update: 31/05/2016