EnlargementImportant legal notice
Skip language selection bar (shortcut key=2)
Contact | Search on EUROPA   
 Questions and answers | Key documents | Glossary | Site map
Enlargement process
Candidate and Potential Candidate Countries

The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Kosovo issues

Financial assistance
Who does what?
Turkish Cypriot community
Direct Access
Press corner
Picture gallery

Past Enlargements

In the beginning, six countries – Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands – founded the European Coal and Steel Community in 1951, followed by the European Economic Community and the European Atomic Energy Community in 1957.

Five successful enlargements have followed since then:

  • In 1973, Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom joined the European Union.
  • In 1981, Greece became a Member State.
  • In 1986, Spain and Portugal became members.
  • In 1995, Austria, Finland and Sweden joined the EU.
  • In 2004, the EU underwent a historic enlargement to 10 countries of Central and Eastern Europe and the Mediterranean: Czech   Republic, Estonia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia. It was a unique, historic enlargement which signified the re-unification of Europe after decades of division by an Iron Curtain.

The accession of Romania and Bulgaria on the 1 January 2007 completed the fifth enlargement of the EU that had started in May 2004.

Contact | Top