News feeds

Nuclear energy


FP7 Euratom aims to address the major issues and challenges in nuclear research and to contribute to the further consolidation of the European Research Area in the nuclear energy sector. FP7 Euratom includes two associated specific programmes: one covering indirect actions in fusion energy research and nuclear fission and radiation protection, the other one covering direct actions undertaken by the Commission's Joint Research Centre (JRC).

The Commission's Directorate-General for Research manages the indirect actions. The specific programmes allocate 1 947 million EUR to fusion energy research and 287 million EUR for nuclear fission and radiation protection, while 517 million EUR are allocated to nuclear activities of the JRC. The JRC is also a partner in many of the consortia implementing indirect actions in the fission area.

The Table below summarises the amounts allocated since FP4 Euratom in the research projects on fusion, fission and radiation protection and in the JRC. The budget allocated to FP7 Euratom almost doubled compared to FP6 due to the increased activities in the field of fusion (ITER).

N° FPPeriodFusionFissionJRCTotal
FP41994-1998794 M Euros170 M Euros271 M Euros1235 M Euros
FP51998-2002788 M Euros191 M Euros281 M Euros1260 M Euros
FP62002-2006824 M Euros209 M Euros319 M Euros1352 M Euros
FP72007-20111947 M Euros287 M Euros517 M Euros2751 M Euros


The Sustainable Nuclear Energy Technology Platform was officially launched on 21 September 2007 in Brussels. It aims at coordinating Research, Development, Demonstration and Deployment in the field of nuclear fission energy. It gathers stakeholders from the industry (technology suppliers, utilities and other users), research organisations including Technical Safety Organisations, universities and national representatives.


To promote scientific research and technological development in the field of fusion a Joint Undertaking for ITER and the Development of Fusion Energy was established for a period of 35 years starting on 19 April 2007. Its members are Euratom, represented by the Commission, the Member States of the European Union, and certain third countries which have concluded cooperation agreements with Euratom in the field of controlled nuclear fusion.