Navigation path

News feeds

Nuclear energy

6th meeting, 19 & 20 May 2011, Prague

The 6th plenary meeting of the European Nuclear Energy Forum (ENEF) took place in the Czernin Palace in Prague (Ministry of Foreign Affairs) on 19 & 20 May 2011.

Mr Petr Nečas, Prime Minister of the Czech Republic has opened this 6th plenary session together with Mrs Iveta Radičová, Prime Minister of Slovakia and Mr Güther Oettinger, European Commissioner for Energy.

The 300 high-ranking participants from all relevant stakeholders have exchanged their views on the safety and risks assessment of the Nuclear Power Plants in the EU, challenges for investing in a low carbon electricity system and the transparency aspects involved.


Programme pdf - 134 KB [134 KB]

Attendance list pdf - 6 MB [6 MB]

Conclusions pdf - 106 KB [106 KB]

Tuesday, 19 May 2011

Opening session

- Mr Petr Nečas, Prime Minister of the Czech Republic

- Mrs Iveta Radičova, Prime Minister of the Slovak Republic

 - Mr Günther Oettinger, EU Commissioner for Energy

- Mr Eric Besson, French Minister for Industry, Energy and Digital Economy

- Mr Traycho Traykov, Bulgarian Minister of Economy, Energy & Tourism

- Mr Pál Kovács, Deputy State Secretary for Energy, Representative of the HU Presidency  

- Mr Evžen Tošenovský, Vice-President of the ITRE Committee of the European Parliament

- Mr Pavel Poc, Member of the European Parliament

- Mr Stéphane Buffetaut, President of the TEN Section of the European Economic & Social Committee 

 In the presence of

- Mr Karel Schwarzenberg, Czech Minister of Foreign Affairs

- Mr Martin Kocourek, Czech Minister of Industry & Trade

- Mr Juraj Miškov, Slovak Minister of Economy

- Members of the European Parliament


Chair for the 3 panels: Mr Peter Faross, Acting Deputy Director General, European Commission, Directorate General for Energy 


Theme 1: Risks of nuclear energy

Presentation of the Working Group activities by the Working Group Chairman, Mr Walter Hohlefelder, E.ON pdf - 4 MB [4 MB]

Presentation of sub Working Group 'Nuclear Safety Insallation' activities by Mr Jean-Pierre Berger, ENISS Member, in the absence of Mr Werner Zaiss, Chairman pdf - 3 MB [3 MB]

Presentation of enela by Mr Jean-Claude Gauthier, Director of enela  pdf - 5 MB [5 MB]

Panel discussion on 'Safety & Risk assessment in Europe - methodology and implementation' 

- Mrs Dana Drábová, Chair of the Nuclear Safety Regulator, Czech Republic 

- Mr Philippe Jamet, Commissioner of the Nuclear Safety Authority (ASN)  pdf - 4 MB [4 MB]

- Mr Vladimír Hlavinka, Member of the Board of ČEZ and Vice-Chairman of WANO

- Mr Hergen Haye, Head New Nuclear, UK Department of Energy & Climate Change

- Mr Alexander Bychkov, Deputy Director General, IAEA pdf - 4 MB [4 MB]

- Mr Hervé Bernard, Administrateur général adjoint, CEA pdf - 2 MB [2 MB]

Discussion with Forum members 

- Mr Norman L. Eisen, US Ambassador in Prague pdf - 63 KB [63 KB]

- Mrs Marlies Hoedemakers, The Netherlands    

- Mr Jacques Repussard, Director General, IRSN 

- Mr Miloslav Ransdorf, Member of the European Parliament

- Mr Giovanni De Santi, Director, European Commission, JRC Petten

- Mr Rokas Zilinskas, Chairman of the Lithuanian nuclear commission 


- Welcome by Mr Martin Kocourek, Minister of Industry & Trade, Czech Republic

- Keynote speech by Dr Fritz Vahrenholt, CEO, RWE Innogy GmbH pdf - 35 KB [35 KB]

Friday, 20 May 2011 

Theme 2: Opportunities of nuclear energy

Presentation of Working Group activities by the Working Group Chairman, Mr Jean-Pol Poncelet, AREVA pdf - 5 MB [5 MB]

Panel discussion on 'Challenges for investments in a low-carbon electricity future'

- Mrs Hana Trojanowska, Government Commissioner for Nuclear Power, Ministry of Economy, Poland

- Mr Anders Jackson, President for Europe, Middle East & Africa Region, Westinghouse pdf - 4 MB [4 MB]

- Mr Paul Rorive, Senior Vice President Nuclear Activities, GDF Suez pdf - 3 MB [3 MB]

- Mr Tapio Saarenpää, Chief Executive Oficer, Fennovoima pdf - 258 KB [258 KB]

- Mr Andrew Kasembe, Head Department, ČEPS, ENTSO-E representative pdf - 721 KB [721 KB]

Discussion with Forum members

- Mrs Kaija Kainurinne, TVO  pdf - 3 MB [3 MB]

- Mr  Nicolas Mesmacque, CA-CIB

- Mr József Bajsz, Eurelectric pdf - 5 MB [5 MB]

- Mr Zacharie Gross, AREVA pdf - 757 KB [757 KB]

Theme 3: Transparency

Presentation of Working Group activities by the Working Group Chairman, Mr Richard Adams, EESC  pdf - 5 MB [5 MB]

Panel discussion on public involvement        

- Mr Andreas Molin, Chairman of the Transparency WG, ENSREG pdf - 138 KB [138 KB]

- Mr Florion Guillaud, Administrateur Trésorier, ANCCLI (speech pdf - 23 KB [23 KB] + presentation pdf - 468 KB [468 KB] )

- Dr Hildegard Cornelius-Gaus, Mayor of Biblis (speech pdf - 93 KB [93 KB] + presentation pdf - 628 KB [628 KB] )

- Mr Jacques Repussard, Director General, IRSN pdf - 3 MB [3 MB]

- Mr Hans Riotte, Head of the Waste Management Division, OCDE-NEA pdf - 2 MB [2 MB]

Discussion with Forum members

- Mr Csaba Dohoczki, Member of GMF

- Mr Xavier Verboven, Member of the EESC

Concluding remarks and the way forward

Mr Peter Faross, Acting Deputy Director-General, European Commission