European Year Journalist Award 2010: Combating Poverty and Social Exclusion: Presentation of the winners

EY 2010 Journalist award banner

The winners of the European Year 2010 Journalist Award were announced today by  László Andor, European Commissioner for Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion accompanied by the European Year 2010 Ambassador Dr. Lesley-Anne Knight.

The competition was one of the activities of the 2010 European Year. It was aimed at supporting and recognising journalists who contribute to an increased awareness and a broader understanding of poverty and social exclusion through their work. It was open to journalists who had articles published or reports broadcast that covered the issues of poverty and social exclusion in the European Union.

Over 1,000 entries were received in the 29 national competitions (27 EU Member States plus Iceland and Norway), with the best entries automatically moving on to compete in the European category.

Winners of the European Year 2010 Journalist Award:

1st Place: Denmark
Steffen Stubager, ‘En atombys nedsmeltning" (The meltdown of a nuclear city). Published in Jyllands-Posten, 17th January 2010.

2nd Place: Luxembourg
Martine Hemmer, ‘Selber Schuld?" (Debt: your own fault?) Published in Télécran, 15th March 2010.

3rd Place: Czech Republic
Petr Třešňák, ‘Velký úklid bezdomovců" (The big cleanup of the homeless). Published in Respekt, on 13th-19th September 2010.

1st Place : Spain
Evangelina de las Heras and Teresa Herrero, ‘Un  colegio para la esperanza" (A school for hope). Aired on RTVA Canal Sur, 21st January 2010.
2nd Place: France
Delphine Kluzek, ‘Salaires de misère" (Poor salaries). Aired on TF1, 10th January 2010.
3rd Place: Romania
Gabriel Butnaru, ‘Calatorie fara sfarsit" (Endless journey). Aired on Radio Europa FM, 24th August 2010.

The ceremony took place during the closing conference of the 2010 European Year.