## **Resumés of Keynote Speakers**

(in order of appearance)

#### John VASSALO

John Vassallo was appointed as Vice President, EU Affairs at Microsoft in May 2008. Vassallo joined Microsoft from General Electric, where he served as Senior Counsel & Director of European Affairs. At GE, a global and diversified technology, media and financial services company, Vassallo was responsible for heading the European Affairs office in Brussels, as well as serving as the business executive in charge of GE Benelux and Malta business units. Before joining GE, Vassallo served as Ambassador of Malta to the European Union, NATO and Belgium, where he successfully prepared Malta's accession to the EU and NATO. A lawyer by training, Vassallo spent 15 years in an active business career (covering financial, sales and managerial responsibilities) with Swedish multinational construction company Euroc Corporation, before coming to Brussels as a director of the European Cement Association.

#### Prof. Dr. Jan Eric SUNDGREN

Prof. Dr. Jan-Eric Sundgren is Senior Vice President of the Volvo Group since August 2006. Within the group, he is responsible for Public & Environmental Affairs and member of the Group Executive Committee of AB Volvo. Prof. Dr. Sundgren held a professorship in Thin Film Physics in Linköping University from 1990 until 1998 and was President of Chalmers University of Technology of Gothenburg between 1998 and 2006. Prof. Dr. Sundgren holds a Master of Engineering and PhD in solid state physics. He is member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences.

#### **Dr. Alexander Ullrich VON GABAIN**

Co-founder, CSO and Member of the Management Board, Intercell AG, professor of Microbiology at the Max Perutz Laboratories, Vienna and foreign adjunct professor at the Karolinska Institute, Stockholm. He obtained his PhD in Genetics at the University of Heidelberg and a Postdoctorate at Stanford University. In the 1980s and 1990s he was a Professor at the University of Umeå and at the Karolinska Institute, Sweden and advisor to pharmaceutical companies. During 1992-1998, he was Chair of Microbiology at the University of Vienna at the Vienna Biocenter Campus, Austria. In 1998 he co-founded the biotech company Intercell AG and served as CEO there until 2005. He is a member of several professional organizations and serves in the Supervisory Boards of biotech enterprises.

#### Prof. Michael KELLY

Professor Michael Kelly is the Prince Philip Professor of Technology in the University of Cambridge since 2002, and a Professorial Fellow at Trinity Hall. Since July 2006, he has been (part-time) Chief Scientific Advisor to the Department for Communities and Local Government and also a non-executive director of the Laird plc.

Michael Kelly was born in New Zealand and completed a Master's Degree in Mathematics at Victoria University of Wellington, from which he has an honorary doctorate. He came to Cambridge in 1971, completed his PhD in theoretical physics in 1974, and stayed on as a post-doctoral research in semiconductors until leaving to join the General Electric Company in 1981. During his time there he and his team invented and developed two new families of microwave devices, one now in common use in automobile radar. This work has been recognised by prizes from the Institute of Physics, the Royal Society and the Royal Academy of Engineering. From 1992-2002 he was at the University of Surrey, first as a Professor of Physics and Electronics and then as Head of the School of Electronics, Computing and Mathematics.

During 2003-5, we was the Executive Director of the Cambridge-MIT Institute, an £80M project which brings together academics from Cambridge and MIT to work on research, education and industrial outreach for the benefit of the UK economy.

# **CVs - Rapporteurs**

## Prof. Peter CHEN

Peter Chen has been Full Professor of Physical Organic Chemistry at the ETH Zürich since September 1994, having previously been Assistant and Associate Professor of Chemistry at Harvard University. Since September 1, 2007 he is Vice President for Research and Corporate Relations at the ETH Zürich. He has been distinguished as «National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator», «Camille and Henry Dreyfus Distinguished New Faculty Fellow», «David and Lucile Packard Fellow», «Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher Scholar», «Alfred P. Sloan Fellow» and «American Chemical Society Cope Scholar». Further, he is a member of the Board of Directors of Clariant, a leading specialty chemicals company with CHF 8.5 Mrd turnover. He serves on the Scientific Advisory Board of OC Oerlikon, a diversified industrial group, and has been a consultant with Givaudan, Firmenich, Lonza, Pfizer, and Merck. In his research, he combines new physical methods with the planning and synthesis of molecules, making it possible to design and test intuitive models of the energetics and reactivity of intermediates in organic and organometallic chemistry.

## Dr. Javier GARCÍA MARTINEZ

Co-Founder, Director, Chief Technology Officer of Rive Technology Inc (USA), a VC-funded MIT spin-off commercializing advanced nanomaterials for energy applications, where he developed the core technology, secured intellectual property, hired CEO, and raised the US\$24M seed money. Javier is also Group Leader of the Molecular Nanotechnology Lab at the Inorganic Chemistry Department of the University of Alicante, Spain. Among other awards, he was one of the MIT Innovators of the year 2007 and Europa Medal in 2005. Before that he was a Fulbright Postdoctoral Fellow at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology from 2001-2003.

#### **Prof. Chris HANKIN**

Prof. Chris Hankin (Imperial College London / IDEA League) has followed the establishment of the EIT closely. Until recently he was Deputy Principal of the Faculty of Engineering, Imperial College London. Previously, he was Pro-Rector (Research) and Dean of City and Guilds College. He is a Professor of Computing Science and a member of the Quantitative Analysis and Decision Support Section in the Department of Computing. He is a member of ISTAG, the advisory group for DG Information Society and Media.