The European Commission launched an EU-wide contest for a prestigious 'Altiero Spinelli Prize for Outreach: Spreading Knowledge about Europe'.

The application process  closed on the 2nd of October 2017. The applications are currently under evaluation. The awards ceremony will take place in May 2018.



02/10/2017 for applications




The Prize will reward outstanding contributions that communicate the EU -its founding values, history, action and key benefits- to wider society, enhance citizens' understanding of the EU, broaden the ownership of the European project and build trust in the EU.

There will be:

  • six first prizes of 50.000 EUR
  • six second prizes of 30.000 EUR 
  • ten third prizes of 17.000 EUR.

Who can apply

The prize is open to individuals or groups of individuals (natural persons). The individual applicant (or the group leader, in case of groups of individuals applying) must have at least a Master's Degree and must, at the time of the application, be affiliated with a legal entity such as, for example, an academic institution, organisation, civil society organisation, company or other type of legal entity established and based in an EU Member State. Eligible participants include scientists, artists, scholars/researchers, writers, journalists and all kinds of other actors who can contribute to articulating what Europe stands for today and tomorrow and why European citizens should "fall in love with Europe" despite its imperfections.


Registration of intention to apply was compulsory. The deadline was 4 September 2017 23:59 (CET).

Those already registered will soon be invited to proceed to the full application stage. The deadline for applications is 2 October 2017 at 12:00 (CET).

Applications will be assessed in October 2017 and the Award Ceremony will be held in early 2018.


These are the Contest Rules (translations can be made available on request). 

Only those who registered by the deadline of 4 September will be invited to submit a full application by 2 October at 12:00 (CET). Applicants will have to submit (online only):


Frequently asked questions