Navigation path

Coin competition - 30 years of the EU flag

In July 2015, the nineteen euro-area countries will jointly issue a commemorative euro coin to celebrate 30 years of the EU flag. Normally the national side of the coin is reserved for a motif specific to the country, but in this case all of the coins in every country will bear the same design – a symbol of European unity.

Coin competition

This is the fourth time the euro-area members have decided to collectively issue a commemorative coin: The first three common commemorative coins were issued in 2007 (50 years of the Treaty of Rome), 2009 (10 years of Economic and Monetary Union) and 2012 (10 years of euro cash).

A professional jury selected five coin designs from among the 62 designs submitted by Euro area mints. Euro-area citizens and residents were invited to select the winning design by an online public vote. The winning design, with 30% of the online vote, was by the hand of Georgios Stamatopoulos from the Bank Of Greece.



Additional tools

  • Print version 
  • Decrease text 
  • Increase text