Navigation path

Slovenia and the euro

Slovenia joined the European Union in 2004 and, on 1 January 2007, became the first of the new EU countries to adopt the euro.

Last update: 4 may 2009

Slovenia at a glance

Surface area: 20 270 km2
Population: 2 053 393 (Eurostat 2009)
Joined the European Union: 1 May 2004
Currency: Euro since 1 January 2007 (formerly tolar, SIT)

Euro information

Status: Euro-area member since 1 January 2007

Fixed conversion rate: €1 = 239.640 SIT

Adoption of the euro: The scenario chosen by Slovenia was the ‘big bang’ changeover with a dual circulation period lasting from 1 January 2007 to 14 January 2007 during which both Slovenian tolar and euro banknotes and coins were used for payments.

Exchange of former national currency:

  • Up to 1 March 2007 – at any bank, but banks could charge a fee for changing amounts over 1 500 euros, unless given at least one day’s notice.
  • From 2 March 2007, at the Bank of Slovenia until 31 December 2016 for tolar coins and without a fixed deadline for tolar banknotes
  • From 12 March 2007 onwards, tolars can also be exchanged at the branches of Nova kreditna banka Maribor and Deželna banka Slovenije.

Dual display of prices: Display of prices in both tolar and euro was mandatory until 30 June 2007.

Toll-free phone line: 080 2002

Opinion polls and surveys


Euro portals



Consumer associations

Additional tools

  • Print version 
  • Decrease text 
  • Increase text