Navigation path

Estonia and the euro

Estonia joined the European Union in 2004 and adopted the euro on 1 January 2011.

Estonia at a glance

Surface area: 45 230 km2
Population: 1 340 341(Eurostat 2009)
Joined the European Union: 1 May 2004
Currency: Euro as of 1 January 2011 - previously the kroon (EEK).

Euro information

Status: Estonia joined the euro area on 1 January 2011. The kroon joined the Exchange Rate Mechanism (ERM II) on 28 June 2004 and observed a central rate of 15.6466 to the euro with standard fluctuation margins of ±15%. On 13 July 2010 the Council gave its green light to the adoption of the euro by Estonia on 1 January 2011.

Fixed conversion rate: €1 = 15.6466 Estonian kroonid

Adoption of the euro: Estonia adopted the euro on 1 January 2011.

Euroinfo line: 800 3330

Documents and publications

Practical preparations

EU official documents


Opinion polls and surveys:


Euro portals




Additional tools

  • Print version 
  • Decrease text 
  • Increase text