Navigation path

Denmark and the euro

Denmark joined the European Union in 1973. It has negotiated an opt-out from the euro and is thus not obliged to introduce it.

Denmark at a glance

Surface area: 43 094 km2 (excluding Greenland and the Faroe Islands)
Population: 5,580,516 (Eurostat 2012)
Joined the European Union: 1 January 1973
Currency: Danish krone (DKK)

Euro information

Status: Denmark has not introduced the euro. The EU Treaty gives Denmark the right to remain outside the euro area, even when all convergence criteria are met (opt-out).

The Danish krone joined the Exchange Rate Mechanism II (ERM II) on 1 January 1999 and observes a central rate of 746.038 to the euro with narrow fluctuation margins of ±2.25%.

Exchange rate: The current euro to Danish krone foreign exchange reference rate can be consulted on the website of the European Central Bank (updated daily).

Opinion polls and surveys


National websites




Additional tools

  • Print version 
  • Decrease text 
  • Increase text