Navigation path

Austria and the euro

Austria joined the European Union in 1995 and was the first wave of countries to adopt the euro on 1 January 1999.

Austria at a glance

Surface area: 83 858 km2

Population: 8 356 707 (Eurostat 2009)

Joined the European Union: 1 January 1995

Currency: Euro since 1 January 1999 (formerly Austrian schilling, ATS)

Euro information

Status: Euro-area member since 1 January 1999

Fixed conversion rate: €1 = 13.7603 AST

Adoption of the euro: The euro banknotes and coins were introduced in Austria on 1 January 2002, after a transitional period of three years when the euro was the official currency but only existed as 'book money'. The dual circulation period – when both the schilling and the euro had legal tender status – ended on 28 February 2002.

Exchange of former national currency: The Österreichische Nationalbank (Austrian National Bank) continues to exchange schilling banknotes and coins for an unlimited period.

Euro hotline Austria: +43 1 514 33 2226

Documents and publications

Opinion polls and surveys

Euro websites




Additional tools

  • Print version 
  • Decrease text 
  • Increase text