Navigation path

Marek Belka Marek Belka
Sharon Bowles Sharon Bowles
Claudia M. Buch Claudia M. Buch
Bucher Anne Anne Bucher
Marco Buti Marco Buti
Carlo Cottarelli Carlo Cottarelli
Guillermo de la Dehesa Guillermo de la Dehesa
Filippo di Mauro Filippo di Mauro
Stephen Fidler Stephen Fidler
Martin Jahn Martin Jahn
Enda Kenny Enda Kenny
Pascal Lamy Pascal Lamy
Erkki Liikanen Erkki Liikanen
Dan O'Brien Dan O'Brien
Jim O'Neill Jim O'Neill
Olli Rehn Olli Rehn
Peter Spiegel Peter Spiegel
Jürgen Thumann Jürgen Thumann
Maarten Verwey Maarten Verwey
António Vitorino António Vitorino
Charles Wyplosz Charles Wyplosz
Anders Åslund Anders Åslund
Olli Rehn Olli Rehn Vice-President, European Commission

Olli Rehn became European Commission Vice-President on 27 October 2011 alongside his mandate as European Commissioner for Economic and Monetary Affairs and the Euro, which took effect on 11 February 2010.

In November 2004, Mr. Rehn was appointed as European Commissioner responsible for Enlargement, after having briefly served as European Commissioner with the Enterprise and Information Society portfolio. Before joining the European Commission, he was an economic policy adviser to the Prime Minister of Finland, and Head of Cabinet for former Finnish Commissioner Erkki Liikanen.

Mr. Rehn has had a long and outstanding political career at the national and European levels. He joined the European Parliament in 1995, where he was appointed Vice-President of the Liberal Group. Elected to the Finnish Parliament in 1991, Mr. Rehn led the Finnish Delegation to the Council of Europe (1991-1995). Previously. Mr. Rehn was Member of the City Council of Helsinki and Deputy Chairman of the Centre Party of Finland (1988-1994), having been president of its youth wing since 1987.

Mr. Rehn holds a doctoral degree in international political economy from the University of Oxford. From 2002 to 2003 he was professor and director of research programmes at the University of Helsinki. He is the author of several books and numerous articles, including Europe's Next Frontiers (Nomos, 2006) and Suomen eurooppalainen valinta ei ole suhdannepolitiikkaa (WSYO, 2006).

The Future of EMU
Need the latest news? Read and subscribe to ECFIN e-news