Digital Agenda for Europe
A Europe 2020 Initiative

Innovation Luminary Awards 2013

High-level innovation leaders and practitioners have been recognised.
Share this

The Innovation Luminary Academy and Awards have been established by the EU Open Innovation Strategy and Policy Group (OISPG) to celebrate and recognise outstanding innovation role models and through this to inspire the next generation of innovators.

The Academy was initiated with our support and sponsorship, as well as Intel Labs Europe and Dublin City; and it was established in association with the Innovation Value Institute and the International Society for Professional Innovation Management.

The celebration event was the centrepiece of the Open Innovation 2.0 – Sustainable Economy & Society Conference being held at Dublin Castle, Ireland on May 20-21. Accordingly, the inaugural Innovation Luminary Awards were presented on May 20 2013 at a special gala dinner at Trinity College Dublin, with Miriam O’Callaghan as the Master of Ceremony.

The initial recipient Luminaries have been designated by the Open Innovation 2.0 Conference Steering Committee for their extraordinary achievements and their potential to inspire the next generation of innovators worldwide. They will be enrolled into the Innovation Luminary Academy and will have stewardship for the selection of future Innovation Luminaires.

Inaugural Innovation Luminary awardees 2013

Serial Entrepreneurship
Professor Alexander von Gabain (DE)– Chairman,  European Institute of Innovation &Technology & Chairman, IntelCell AG


High Performance Innovation
Peter van Manen (UK) – CEO McLaren Formula 1 Electronics



Innovators Courage
Professor Stephen Hawking (UK) 

Innovation Courage
Felix Baumgartner (Au)- RedBull Stratos 


Business Model Innovation
Alexander Osterwalder  (CH)– Inventor of the Business Model Canvas & Best Selling Author 


Ami de L’Europe - 21st Century Industrial Innovation
Justin Rattner (USA)– Intel Chief Technology Officer 


Creative Innovation
Rovio (FI)  Mikael Hed, CEO 


Innovation Thought Leadership
Professor Leif Edvinsson (SE) – New Club of Paris, University of Lund


Irish Innovation Champion

Joan Mulvihill (IE) - CEO of the Irish Internet Association 

(Photography Marc O'Sullivan)


Last updated on 29/05/2013 - 16:01