

Mr. K. de Gucht European Commissioner for Trade BE—1049 Brussels Belgium Postbus 20018 2500 EA Den Haag

Commissie Europese Zaken R. W. Knops Binnenhof 1a 2513 AA Den Haag

date 25 June 2014

Subject Letter in the framework of the political dialogue: the role of national parliaments in free trade agreements

page 1/4

Dear Mr. De Gucht,

The national parliaments of the EU have been following with great interest the negotiations on the Comprehensive Economic Trade Agreement (CETA) between the EU and Canada and the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP) between the United States and the EU. A recurring issue between the European Commission and the Council when agreements have been reached, is whether or not these types of comprehensive agreements should be considered as coming within the exclusive competence of the European Commission (so-called 'EU-only' agreements) or that that they concern both competences of the Commission and of the member states (mixed agreements).

The chairs of relevant committees in national parliaments who are signatories to this letter believe that free trade agreements should be considered as mixed agreements, since they contain provisions that concern policy areas which are within the competences of the member states. For CETA, as well as TTIP (as well as can be foreseen at this stage), this is the case for certain elements of policy areas such as services, transport and investor protection. In the case of a mixed status, all Member-States, namely through their national Parliaments, have to ratify the agreement. In view of the important role national parliaments have in the democratic decision making process of the EU, we feel that it is of great importance that trade agreements such as CETA and TTIP are ratified by the national parliaments.



date 25 June 2014

Therefore, we ask you to consider comprehensive trade agreements such as TTIP and CETA as mixed agreements.

We look forward to your reaction.

Chairman of the Committee for

European Affairs

Yours Sincerely,

Mr. R. W. KNOPS, Chairman of the committee on European Affairs	Tweede Kamer	Netherlands
Mr. R. DE ROON, Chairman of the committee on Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation	Tweede Kamer	Netherlands
Mr. K. KOPF, Chairman of the Standing Subcommittee on EU-Affairs	Nationalrat	Austria
Mr. E. MAYER, Chairman of the EU Committee	Bundesrat	Austria
Mr. A. FLAHAUT, President of the Belgian House of representatives and chair of the advisory committee on European Affairs	House of Representatives	Belgium
Mr. O. BENESIK	Chamber of	Czech Republic

Deputies



date 25 June 2014

Mr. M. KREJCA	Senate	Czech Republic
Chairman of the Committee on EU Affairs		
Ms. D. AUROI,	Assemblée nationale	France
Présidente de la Commission des Affaires européennes		
Mr. G. KRICHBAUM,	Bundestag	Germany
Chairman of the Committee on Affairs of the European Union		
Mr. R. HÖRCSIK	National Assembly	Hungary
Chairman of the Committee on European Affairs		
Mr. D. HANNIGAN	House of the Oireachtas	Ireland
Chairman of the Joint Committee on European Union Affairs		
Ms. Z. KALNIŅA- LUKAŠEVICA	Saeima	Latvia
Chair of the European Affairs Committee		
Mr. M. ANGEL	Chamber of Deputies	Luxembourg
Chairman of the Committee on foreign and European Affairs		
Hon. L. BUSUTTIL	House of Representatives	Malta
Chairman of the Standing Committee on Foreign and European Affairs		
Ms. A. POMASKA	Sejm	Poland
Chair of the European Affairs Committee		



date 25 June 2014

Mr. E. WITTBRODT Chairman of the EU Affairs Committee	Senate	Poland
Mr. P. MOTA PINTO	Assembly of the Republic	Portugal
Chairman of the European Affairs Committee	e republic	
Mr. L. BLAHA	National Council	Slovakia
Chairman of the Committee on European Affairs		
Mr. J. HORVAT	National Assembly	Slovenia
Chairman of the Committee on EU Affairs		
Sir W. CASH	House of Commons	United Kingdom
Chairman of the European Scrutiny Committee		
Lord T. BOSWELL	House of Lords	United Kingdom
Chairman of EU select Committee		