Joint Research Centre - European Commission

The European Commission's in-house science service
European Commission


What has the EU done after the Fukushima accident?

Nuclear safety: stress tests

Following last year's triple disaster in Japan, the EU decided to take a critical look at its nuclear power production and re-assess the safety and security of all nuclear power plants in the EU. All 14 Member States that operate nuclear power plants (Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, the Netherlands, Romania, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom) and Lithuania, which is decommissioning its nuclear power producing units, agreed to participate in these voluntary stress tests.