Joint Research Centre - European Commission

The European Commission's in-house science service
European Commission

Former JRC Director awarded the Walter Hälg Prize


Former JRC-ITU Director Gerry Lander

Former JRC-ITU Director Gerry Lander© EU 2011

Dr Gerry Lander, former Director of the JRC Institute for Transuranium Elements (ITU), was awarded the Walter Hälg Prize in recognition of scientific career in the field of basic actinide research. Every two years the European Neutron Scattering Association, ENSA, awards the prestigious Walter Hälg Prize to a European scientist for outstanding coherent work in neutron scattering with a long term impact on scientific and/or technical neutron scattering applications.

The biennial prize is established by ENSA, an affiliation of the national neutron scattering societies which directly represent neutron beam users. Acknowledging the decision on its website, ENSA said it awarded Dr Gerry Lander “because of his many ground-breaking scientific achievements mostly in the field of the magnetism of the actinides and his outstanding contributions to the development of neutron sources, in particular his scientific leadership making IPNS (Intense Pulsed Neutron Source) the basis for the spallation neutron sources to become the neutron sources of the future”.



View related content