Joint Research Centre - European Commission

The European Commission's in-house science service
European Commission

New members appointed for the ERC Scientific Council


The European Commission has appointed three new members of the Scientific Council, the governing body of the European Research Council (ERC). The term of office of the new members runs from the beginning of January 2014 until the end of 2017. The new members are: Professor Nils Chr. Stenseth, Centre for Ecological and Evolutionary Synthesis (University of Oslo), Professor Martin Stokhof, Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Humanities (University of Amsterdam) and Professor Michel Wieviorka, Centre for Sociological Analysis and Intervention (CADIS-Paris). The new members have been identified by an independent Identification Committee, composed of six high level scientists and appointed by the European Commission. The scientific community was consulted in this identification process. The ERC Scientific Council is composed of the President of the ERC and 21 other members, who are all distinguished scientists and scholars. The outgoing members are Dr Daniel Estève, Professor Carlos Duarte and Professor Alain Peyraube. In addition, Professor Helga Nowotny has been replaced by Professor Jean-Pierre Bourguignon as ERC President as of 1 January 2014