Navigation path


Food and Feed Safety (10-01-2008)

New Chairman and Alternate appointed at the Board of Appeal of the Community Plant Variety Office (CPVO)

On 17 December 2007, the Council has decided to appoint for a period of 5 years, Dr Paul A.C.E van der Kooij and Mr Timothy Patrick Millett respectively as new Chairman and as Alternate for the Board of Appeal of the Community Plant Variety Office (CPVO), both having been Members of the Board since 1996.
The CPVO, established in 1995, is responsible for implementing and applying the protection system for plant variety rights as set out by EU law.
Dr van der Kooij is senior lecturer in intellectual property law at the University of Leiden (The Netherlands) since 1980 and Deputy-judge at the District Court of The Hague since 1991. He holds vast expertise in intellectual property law and in particular in the field of EU regulation on plant variety rights. He has written many articles and books in the field of intellectual property law, among which are books on the Community Regulation on plant variety rights.
Mr Millett, already alternate to the Chairman since 2002, is the legal Secretary for Judge J.N. Cunha at the Court of Justice of the European Communities in Luxembourg. He has authored a text on judicial control in the EU and numerous publications concerning EU legislation on plant variety rights.
The CPVO extends its appreciation for the committed work of Mrs Gabriele Winkler who has held the post Chairman for the past 10 years.
For further information, please visit: