Navigation path

European Union Award for Contemporary Music/The European Border Breakers Awards (EBBAs)

Music should know no borders, therefore Europe intends to further stimulate the circulation of European music and talented musicians. The European Commission encourages and recognises emerging artists' success in popular music through the annual European Border Breakers Awards.

The winners of the 2014 edition are

  • GUGABRIEL (Austria)
  • LUKAS GRAHAM (Denmark)
  • WOODKID (France) 
  • ZEDD (Germany)
  • ASGEIR (Iceland)
  • KODALINE (Ireland)
  • JACCO GARDNER (Netherlands)
  • ENVY (Norway)
  • ICONA POP (Sweden)
  • DISCLOSURE (United Kingdom)

The winners will receive their awards in a televised ceremony hosted by TV personality and musician Jools Holland at Eurosonic Noorderslag in Groningen, Netherlands, on 15 January 2014. The ceremony – including performances by most of the winning acts – will be broadcast by Dutch National Television (NTR) and will also receive European coverage through TV channels and radio stations. It will also e live streamed on Youtube.

The Public Choice Award

From 1 November until 20 December 2013 the public will have the opportunity to vote for their favourite artists on By voting, they could win a trip to the award ceremony.

The winners of the 2014 awards

About the EBBA awards

Europeans enjoy modern popular music and the repertoire of emerging European artists showcases Europe's rich cultural diversity. The circulation of new repertoire is important for people's access to it and the European Border Breakers Awards aim to stimulate the cross-border circulation of new music. Access to new music and its circulation are crucial for artists' capacity to build up relations with the wider European public. The European Commission acknowledges that the European music sector contributes significantly to our economy, together with our other creative industries. In their home country, artists enjoy the support of their fans, who buy their CDs and go to their concerts. However, it is difficult for emerging talents to break the borders between them and foreign audiences. and to generate sales in other EU countries. The EBBAs reward emerging artists or groups successful in this field.

The winners are selected on the basis of Nielsen Music Control research, data from the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) radio stations and from festivals participating in the European Talent Exchange Program (ETEP).

The Eurosonic/Noorderslag Festival is in charge of organising the selection and the award ceremony of the EBBAs. The Eurosonic/Noorderslag Festival was selected in 2009 further to an open call for proposals as part of the "Special action" of the Culture Programme.

Website EBBA: