Navigation path

Seven  Grand Prizes and 21 Awards were granted in the 2009 EU Cultural Heritage Prize/Europa Nostra Awards

The European Heritage Awards were jointly launched in 2002 by the European Commission and Europa Nostra, in the framework of the Commission’s Culture Programme, to celebrate exemplary initiatives of the many facets of Europe's cultural heritage in categories ranging form the restoration of buildings and their adaptation to new uses, to urban and rural landscape rehabilitation, archaeological site interpretations, and care for art collections.

The seven Grand Prize winners of the 2009 European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage/Europa Nostra Awards were announced on the evening of 5 June.

An additional 21 Awards were also granted during the official European Heritage Awards Ceremony in the Teatro Antico in Taormina, Sicily (Italy).

The Grand Prizes, each worth €10,000, went to projects in Finland, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom.

In his message Mr Ján Figel', the European Commissioner responsible for Education, Training, Culture and Youth, underlined that the chosen projects and people involved in them "show that heritage is not simply about restoring and conserving things from our past, it is also about actively bringing our common heritage into the present and making it a part of our daily lives.''

The Grand Prizes were presented by Her Royal Highness The Infanta Doña Pilar de Borbón, President of Europa Nostra, and by Mr. Bernd Biervert who represented Commissioner Figel'.
The Awards highlight exceptional conservation, research and education achievements, as well as dedicated service to heritage conservation.

In 2009 a total of 138 applications and nominations from 24 countries were received in the various categories and assessed in situ by independent experts. The best of these were selected by one of four Heritage Awards Juries in a series of recent meetings. 28 were short-listed to receive an Award, and from these, seven were selected to receive a Grand Prize. Each of the seven Grand Prize winners received an amount of € 10,000.

The seven Grand Prizes and the 21 Awards were as follows:

Category 1 — Conservation:
- Kesälahti Church Bell Tower jpeg - 628 KB [628 KB] , FINLAND (Grand Prize)
- Mátra Museum in Gyöngyös jpeg - 381 KB [381 KB] , HUNGARY (Grand Prize)
- The Church of Saints Faustino and Giovita in Fasano jpeg - 793 KB [793 KB] , ITALY (Grand Prize)
- High Level Bridge at Newcastle jpeg - 57 KB [57 KB] /Gateshead, UNITED KINGDOM (Grand Prize)
- Gozzoburg Medieval building in Krems jpeg - 124 KB [124 KB] , AUSTRIA (Award)
- Grotenfelt Family Burial Chapel's wall paintings in Joroinen jpeg - 497 KB [497 KB] , FINLAND (Award)
- Dokumentationsstätte Regierungsbunker, Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler jpeg - 916 KB [916 KB] , GERMANY (Award)
- Archaeological Site of Nicopolis in Epirus jpeg - 612 KB [612 KB] , GREECE (Award)
- "Macro Future" and "Alternative Economy City" in Rome jpeg - 97 KB [97 KB] , ITALY (Award)
- Via Latina at the University of Coimbra jpeg - 177 KB [177 KB] , PORTUGAL (Award)
- La Casería de Tomillos at Alcalá del Valle jpeg - 880 KB [880 KB] , SPAIN (Award)
- The Church of Santa María La Mayor in Colmenar de Oreja jpeg - 18 KB [18 KB] , SPAIN (Award)
- Stanley Mills in Stanley Perthshire jpeg - 102 KB [102 KB] , UNITED KINGDOM (Award)
- Logie Schoolhouse in Craigo jpeg - 527 KB [527 KB] , UNITED KINGDOM (Award)
- The Pier Arts Centre in Stromness on Orkney jpeg - 141 KB [141 KB] , UNITED KINGDOM (Award)

Category 2 — Research:
- The Noah's Ark Project jpeg - 251 KB [251 KB] - Global Climate Change Impact on Built Heritage and Cultural Landscapes, ITALY (Grand Prize)
- Study, Assessment and Design jpeg - 125 KB [125 KB] for the Structural and Architectural Restoration of the Bedestan in Nicosia, CYPRUS (Award)
- Series of five restoration catalogues jpeg - 453 KB [453 KB] from 2004 to 2008 of the Olomouc Museum of Art, CZECH REPUBLIC (Award)
- An Inventory of Historic Gardens and Designed Landscapes jpeg - 934 KB [934 KB] in Ireland, IRELAND (Award)

Category 3 — Dedicated service:
- Dr Glenn Murray from Segovia jpeg - 779 KB [779 KB] , SPAIN (Grand Prize)
- Fundación de la Comunidad Valenciana La Luz de la Imágenes jpeg - 761 KB [761 KB] , SPAIN (Award)
- Professor David Walker, OBE, from Edinburgh jpeg - 384 KB [384 KB] , UNITED KINGDOM (Award)

Category 4 — Education, training and awareness-raising:
- Sustainable Aegean Programme jpeg - 813 KB [813 KB] , GREECE (Grand Prize)
- Maison du patrimoine médiéval mosan in Bouvignes-sur-Meuse jpeg - 400 KB [400 KB] , BELGIUM (Award)
- Pontemanco - A proposed teaching method for reading the landscape , ITALY (Award)
- Academia Istropolitana Nova in Sväty Jur jpeg - 336 KB [336 KB] , SLOVAKIA (Award)
- "Culture Ants" project of the Cultural Awareness Foundation jpeg - 208 KB [208 KB] , Istanbul, TURKEY (Award)
- Upper Colne Valley dry stone walling project from Huddersfield jpeg - 361 KB [361 KB] , UNITED KINGDOM (Award)