Chemin de navigation

Cinq finalistes ont été annoncés pour le Prix de l'Union européenne pour l'architecture contemporaine - Mies van der Rohe 2009 

En soutenant le Prix, la Commission européenne souligne le rôle de l'architecture en tant que moteur de la créativité et de l'innovation.
The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe today announced  the  finalists for the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award 2009, one of the most important and prestigious prizes for international architecture. By supporting the Prize, the European Commission underlines the role of architecture as a driver for creativity and innovation and draws attention to the important contribution of European professionals in the development of new ideas and technologies. The finalists are:
  • Multimodal Centre – Nice Tramway, Nice (France) by Marc Barani /Atelier Marc Barani
  • Zenith Music Hall, Strasbourg (France) by Massimiliano Fuksas, Doriana Fuksas / Massimiliano Fuksas Architecture
  • University Luigi Bocconi, Milan (Italy) by Shelley McNamara, Yvonne Farrell / Grafton Architects
  • The Norwegian Opera & Ballet, Oslo (Norway) by Kjetil Trædal Thorsen, Tarald Lundevall, Craig Dykers / Snøhetta
  • Library, Senior Citizens’ Centre and City Block Core Zone, Sant Antoni’s District, Barcelona (Spain) by Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem, Ramon Vilalta /RCR Aranda Pigem Vilalta Arquitectes

The finalists were selected by a jury from 340 projects proposed by the Architects’ Council of Europe member associations and the other national architectural associations and the Advisory Committee. The Jury was chaired by Francis Rambert  and consisted of Ole Bouman, Irena Fialová, Fulvio Irace, Luis M. Mansilla, Vasa J. Perović and Carme Pinós.

Previous winners include, among others, Rem Koolhaas and Ellen van Loon, Zaha Hadid, Dominique Perrault, Peter Zumthor, Rafael Moneo, Álvaro Siza Vieira, Lord Foster and Luis M. Mansilla – Emilio Tuñón.

The European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award 2009, funded through the EU Culture Programme, is awarded biennially to works completed within the previous two years. The Jury also awards a Special Mention Prize for an emerging  architect.

A traveling exhibition on the Prize Winner, Emerging Architect Special Mention, Finalists and Shortlisted Works is planned for September this year. The EU Culture Programme also funds the European Border Breakers Awards, the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage and the forthcoming European Union Prize for Literature. The Prize Winner and Special Mention Winner will be announced in 29 April.

Multimodal Centre – Nice Tramway, (France)

Zenith Music Hall - Photo: Moreno Maggi

University Bocconi - Photo: Federico Brunetti

Oslo Opera - Photo: Jens Passoth

Senior Citizens’ Centre - Photo: Hisao Suzuki

To find out more Mies van der Rohe Foundation:, European Commission: Culture website, The Prizes, Architecture Prize, Policy developments European Commission: John Macdonald +32 2 295 52 67 Sophie Andersson +32 2 295 02 0 Press contacts: SCOOP COMUNICACIÓN - BOLTON & QUINN Pati Núñez / Yvette Colomer - Erica Bolton / Tamsin Selby - - Ph: +34 934 154 653 / + 34 622 296 657 Ph: +44 020 7221 5000 / +44 07711 698 18

En savoir plus

Winning building to be announced!

On 29 April the winner of the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture/Mies van der Rohe Awards will be announced in a press release. A press visit to the winning building will follow. 

The Award ceremony will take place in Barcelona at a later date. Watch this space for more information on the winning project and the programme for the Award ceremony!

Press release en français 
du 10/02/09