Navigation path

European Capital of Culture

First step towards the selection of the 2013 European Capitals of Culture.
In accordance with the selection process implemented in 2007 for the 2013 and following titles , the selection panel met at the end of 2007 to examine the 8 proposals submitted by France (Strasbourg, Toulouse, Amiens, Nice, Marseille, Bordeaux, Lyon, Saint-Etienne) and the 9 submitted by Slovakia (Trnava, Banska Bystrica, Kosice, Presov, Dolny Kubin, Martin, Bratislava, Trencin, Nitra) for the 2013 title. The qualiity of the bids was assessed against the criteria mentioned in Decision 1622/2006/EC. The panel pre-selected 4 cities in France (Bordeaux, Lyon, Marseille, Toulouse) and 4 in Slovakia (Nitra, Kosice, Martin, Presov). The panel's report will be available by mid-February. - The advisory and monitoring panel met for the first time in November 2007 to examine the preparatory work of the 2010 European Capitals of Culture (Essen, Pécs, Istanbul) and issued its report. More