Navigation path

Winners of 2013 EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards announced

The winners of the 2013 European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards were unveiled on 26 March by the European Commission and Europa Nostra.

The 30 winners, selected from nearly 200 nominated projects, are honoured for their achievements in four areas: conservation, research, dedicated service, and education, training and awareness-raising.

The award ceremony will take place on 16 June at the Odeon of Herodes Atticus in Athens, in the presence of Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, and Plácido Domingo, the world-renowned opera singer and Europa Nostra President. Karolos Papoulias, President of Greece, has given his patronage to the event and is also expected to attend.

Of the 30 winning projects, six will be named as grand prix laureates in Athens and one of the winners will receive the public choice award, based on an online poll conducted by Europa Nostra.

List of winners and more information

The Europa Nostra Awards is one of the four prizes supported by the European Commission, together with the European Border Breakers Awards for popular music, the EU prize for literature and the EU Prize for contemporary architecture.

Press Release