Navigation path

European Heritage Label: first pre-selected sites!

The five Member States participating in the selection submitted their proposals of sites ...

The 9 pre-selected sites for 2013 are:

  • Austria (2 sites):
    - Archäologischer Park Carnuntum ;
    - “Stille Nacht! Heilige Nacht!“ Das Lied der europäischen Festkultur Weltbedeutung. Entstehungsstätten, Museen, Wirkungsgeschichte (national thematic site);
  • Denmark (3 sites):
    - Carlsberg ;
    - Dybbøl Banke (Dybbøl Hill);
    - The First Europeans: The living heritage of the Cistercians in Løgumkloster, Denmark and Pelplin, Poland (transnational site).
  • Estonia (1 site):
    - Great Guild Hall, Estonian History Museum;
  • Luxembourg (1 site):
    - Schengen;
  • The Netherlands (2 sites):
    - Peace Palace;
    - Camp Westerbork;

The 2013 selection is reserved to Austria, Estonia, Denmark, Luxembourg and the Netherlands who did not participate in the previous intergovernmental label and who wished to participate in this new European Heritage Label.1

The European Commission will proceed with the final selection of sites in consultation with a panel of independent experts in the coming months. This panel shall deliver its report by the end of 2013 and the Commission will award the Label on this basis in the beginning of 2014.

Every year, a list will be published with the sites pre-selected by the Member Statesand those finally selected by the Commission to get the European Heritage Label.

1Decision 1194/2011/EU establishing the European Heritage Label