Navigation path

Eindhoven, Leeuwarden and Maastricht pre-selected with a view to a European Capital of Culture in the Netherlands in 2018

The final recommendation for the 2018 title expected in September 2013

The selection panel responsible for evaluating the applications of Dutch cities for the European Capital of Culture 2018, meeting today in Amsterdam, recommended that Eindhoven, Leeuwarden and Maastricht should be preselected for the title. Once this recommendation has been confirmed by the Netherlands, the preselected cities will have to flesh out and complete their applications by summer 2013. The selection panel will meet again in September 2013 to recommend a Dutch city for the title of European Capital of Culture 2018.

Responding to a call for submission of applications published by the Netherlands in late 2011, five Dutch cities – Eindhoven, Leeuwarden, Maastricht, The Hague and Utrecht – submitted a bid to become European Capital of Culture in 2018.

According to the current system for designating the European Capitals of Culture, the selection consists of two rounds: a pre-selection, following which a shortlist of candidate cities is drawn up, and a final selection round nine months later. The selected cities are then officially designated by the Council of Ministers of the EU.

Press release

More information on the European Capitals of Culture