Navigation path

EU Prize for Literature 2012 awarded to Europe's best emerging authors

The 12 winning authors of the 2012 EU Prize for Literature received their Awards during a ceremony that took place in the Albert Hall Complex in Brussels on 22 November, in the presence of Mrs. Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth.

The event was attended by leading public figures from the worlds of literature, culture and politics, including Mrs. Doris Pack, Chair of the European Parliament's Culture and Education Committee.

The winners of the 2012 EU Prize for Literature are:

Anna Kim (Austria), Lada Žigo (Croatia), Laurence Plazenet (France), Viktor Horváth (Hungary), Kevin Barry (Ireland), Emanuele Trevi (Italy), Giedra Radvilavičiūtė (Lithuania), Gunstein Bakke (Norway), Piotr Paziński (Poland), Afonso Cruz (Portugal), Jana Beňová (Slovakia) and Sara Mannheimer (Sweden).

European Union Prize for Literature

The EU Prize for Literature aims to showcase Europe’s contemporary fiction, promote publishing, translation, selling and reading of books from other countries and, in a longer term, help raise awareness about the literary richness and diversity in Europe. The prize is unique; it is the only book award given to authors from such a range of European countries and language areas, no matter how small, and moreover focusing on emerging authors.

The Prize competition is open to all 37 countries involved in the EU Culture Programme. Every year, national juries in a third of the participating countries nominate their winning authors and all countries are thus represented over a 3 year period.

Each winner gets € 5 000 and the opportunity to have their book translated into other European languages, in the framework of the EU Culture Programme. So far, the Programme has provided funding for 32 of the 35 winners to have their books translated. Since 2009, more than 100 translations in total, covering 19 languages, have been supported.

More information

For more information see the website of the  EU Prize for Literature  and the  European Commission's press release  on the announcement of the winners at the Frankfurt Book Fair on 9 October 2012.